RSS

Turning Points by JB Vadeboncoeur

24 Oct

There have been many turning points in my life. One that was fun, was when I was living in Brooklyn. There was a group makeover session available with David Kibbe who wrote METAMORPHOSIS: DISCOVER YOUR IMAGE IDENTITY AND DAZZLE AS ONLY YOU CAN. Oh joy, what an opportunity. At the time I was a newly divorced student in a relationship that wasn’t good for me.

It was so exciting. There were six of us. The master, David came in and started on one of the others. He held up fabric swatches in different colors and I could see the transformation in the others. The colors he chose enlivened them. MY colors had been done previously by a lovely lady, SO, I already knew that I was a ‘summer’ As long as I can remember I have been attracted to soft muted colors, grayed and lovely. It was perfect that I was in a group because I could see the dramatic improvement in the others. I saw that people seemed to be rejecting the information or at least feel challenged by it. I made a decision to be open to what he offered about me. OMG, he held up a lime green color and bright orange. He said I was a ‘bright spring.’ He suggested I color my hair a strawberry blonde. He quickly added that I could go with a golden blonde to start getting used to the idea.

When I was 14, my aunt showed me how to dye my dirty blond hair. I added an extra product to take out the red highlights that kept showing up. I carefully kept my hair a pale ash blonde.

David told me that I have a fresh and sensual body type like Goldie Hawn. Sensual! I grew up in Catholic school. We weren’t even supposed to have a body. OMG.

I went for it and had my hair dyed strawberry blonde. I trusted that even though I couldn’t see it, there was something there for me. David talked us through putting on makeup in new ways and colors. I looked beautiful. I felt beautiful. The butterfly that was me emerged and it felt so free to get out of that little box that crushed my wings.

On the subway home, people talked to me and it was magical. Best of all, my boyfriend looked at me and never came near me again.

I still puzzle over why I was so attracted to the muted colors. In the bright colors, I am happy and free. In the muted ones I am trying to be what others want.

Soon after that I moved to California, where I met my current husband in a class. Actually three men pursued me. I remember going to class early and sitting with an empty seat on each side of me. I was hoping that Barney would sit in one of them. These other two men sat on either side of me and I was so bummed as Barney came in late. It was completely clear to me that these other two men couldn’t do anything that would attract me to them, except be Barrney. It was so wonderful to be clear about love. That’s another story.

JB

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Turning Points by JB Vadeboncoeur

  1. Karen Trimbath

    December 14, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    That is a beautiful story. I have a copy of Metamorphosis, and always wondered what type I was. I think, perhaps, Natural?

     
  2. purplume

    December 16, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Thanks for your comment Karen. I see you are a natural in your inclinations, based on your blog. I wonder if that carries through to or rather comes from body type?

     
  3. Karen Trimbath

    December 16, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Maybe state of mind!

     

Leave a Reply

