RSS

Book Review – The Farwalker’s Quest

07 Dec

TITLE: The Farwalker’s Quest

AUTHOR: Joni Sensel

PUBLISHER: Bloomsbury USA Children’s Books

HARDCOVER: 384 pages

PRICE: $16.99

The Farwalker’s Quest by Joni Sensel was enchanting. It was Harry Potter good. It’s ignore your husband when he talks to you good.

Ms Sensel gives herself great freedom of expression and surprises and delights with the fruits of her labors.  Noted for her first lines, the book starts out – “Zeke’s tree wouldn’t speak to him.”

The main character is a girl 13 years old who is assisted by a young man and a 13 year old boy who are devoted and loyal to her. It’s heartwarming and surprising, interesting and uplifting.

The MC actually goes to the bathroom.

I found myself envisioning it as a movie. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Let me know.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2009 in Book Review

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Book Review – The Farwalker’s Quest

  1. Jennifer

    December 7, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Yay for book reviews! I am going to be getting a Kindle for Christmas, so I am looking for good books to read. What is the basic premise for this book?

     
  2. purplume

    December 8, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Oh boy, a kindle. Have fun. The basic premise for this book is if you don’t give up and take the easy way out, but go through your personal hero’s journey, you end up finding your authentic self and all that entails.

    A warning with this book, it will be very challenging to put it down.

    Also, It’s Middle Grade.
    Happy holidays.

     
  3. Daria

    December 11, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    This actually sounds like a book I would like. I’m currently trying to get through the Twilight Saga (yes.. I was suckered into it by my boss’ daughter, but it’s okay so far!), but I’m always looking for good stuff to read!

    I noticed that you also have it tagged as a book review, so I think I’m going to have to take a look and see what else you may have given a thumbs up or down. =)

    P.S. Jennifer – I’m jealous that you are getting the Kindle! I’ve been wanting one of them for a while now.. or one of the Sony readers. For now, I’ve been using the Kindle app on my iTouch.. It’s sooo not the same. =) Too small!

     
  4. purplume

    December 11, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Thanks Daria, welcome to my blog. I see you have a book of the day on your blog. I’m repelled by vampires, it must be the silver fillings. Maybe I’ll see you review Farwalker’s Quest on your page after a while.

    Since I posted this, I passed The Farwalker’s Quest on to my husband. I often do that and he seldom reads more than the first page. He devoured the book in two days and asked me to get the rest of Joni Sensel’s books.

     

Leave a Reply

