RSS

Peaceful Observation by J.B. Vadeboncoeur

08 Dec

I see the fan overhead, in the periphery. It catches my eye because of the movement. When I look up at it fully, I am awed by the beauty of it. Barney encouraged me to buy this one that has blades shaped like palm leaves and the whole thing is in soft shades of golden browns and bronze.

In my mind’s eye before I looked up, I saw a utilitarian fan, metal and chipped white paint. The beauty of the reality was startling. It casts a twirling shadow on the ceiling. The pull knobs sway like a pendulum in a circular swing. All the movement is in contrast to the stillness of the room. All the while it gently blows over my skin, at my exposed neck and face and chest. I cling to the breeze like someone thirsts for water. It enables me to relax in a degree or two of cooler air and easier breath.

I invite you to share an observation. : )

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Peaceful Observation by J.B. Vadeboncoeur

  1. Jennifer

    December 8, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    I find these moments of peace in the hug of my husband. Cliche? Maybe. But true. For a second there, the rest of the world fades and it is quiet and my soul is at peace.

    Nice post!

     
  2. purplume

    December 8, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Nice reply!

    I like your moment of peace even better.

     
  3. Rammi

    December 9, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    I miss having moments of peace.

     
    • purplume

      December 10, 2009 at 12:01 am

      Never too much peace, eh?

       
  4. Solnushka

    December 9, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    Nice fan.

    Actually, ceiling fans are terribly exotic to me. Not something you find much round our way.

    If you tell me you have air con, next summer, I’m moving in.

     
    • purplume

      December 10, 2009 at 12:04 am

      Where is your way? My ceiling fan does look exotic. 😄
      Air conditioning used to be rare here on the big island. We have such lovely trade winds that keep us cool. The new developments with half million dollar homes probably have it.
      The temperature rarely reaches 90 degrees, it’s the humidity that can make it uncomfortable.

       
  5. Solnushka

    December 10, 2009 at 12:17 am

    My way is London. Which I will also claim is humidity hell both in summer and winter.

     
    • purplume

      December 10, 2009 at 6:03 pm

      Humidity is my least favorite aspect of weather. : )

       
  6. Solnushka

    December 10, 2009 at 12:17 am

    Blast. Have not got the hang of these threaded reply buttons yet.

     

Leave a Reply

