RSS

The One Most Ordinary Survival Tactic Ever For An Easy Christmas! By J. B. Vadeboncoeur

08 Dec

Christmas is coming and if you are human, you are probably caught up the frenzy of excitement, work, fun, work, parties, work, planning, work, etc.

If I think about the pressures on me right now; they are cooking, cleaning, preparing gifts and getting the house decorated.

If I do the number one ordinary survival tactic to deal with this: I will take a deep breath, exhale long and slow, and think about what I would do if all that was handled. Here I am, all the presents are wrapped and sent, the freezer is full of yummy things, and the house is sparkling clean and decorated. The guests are not here yet. I have plenty of time. What do I do now?

Pay attention to your answer.

MY response is that I want to sit down and write a note to each of my loving ones and tell them what I love about them.

This is my number one tactic. Yours is whatever answer comes to your mind.

I challenge you to do yours, (common sense, safety and wisdom considered). That is don’t do anything that might hurt you or others. If you are clear that your answer promotes something positive and helps you and/or others then, I challenge you to do it.

I’ve just done one third of my response. That is I wrote notes to almost half of my loving ones. I can feel myself relaxing already. It’s because the most important thing, the highest priority for me is getting done. The rest will fall in place.

What is your experience?

Have your best Holiday ever!

This blog is for sharing and upliftment purposes only. The approaches and methods in this blog are not intended to diagnose, treat or cure any disease or form of illness. This blog is not designed nor intended to replace any form of therapy or medical care.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2009 in How to

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “The One Most Ordinary Survival Tactic Ever For An Easy Christmas! By J. B. Vadeboncoeur

  1. tdryden1

    December 9, 2009 at 2:12 am

    Love it!!! What a great exercise … makes so much sense too! I really can feel myself relax just thinking about this!!! I would probably do the same… After all that is what really matters. FAMILY, Thanks…

     
    • purplume

      December 10, 2009 at 5:55 pm

      You said it in a nutshell. I am almost finished writing the notes to loved ones.

       
  2. securi7y

    December 9, 2009 at 3:00 am

    My pressures right now are to complete my schoolwork on-time and do well on tests. Lucky for me, I don’t have to imagine what I’d be doing: this is the last week before Midterms, therefore I’m doing nothing but reviewing in all my classes. Right now, I’m just taking it easy, blogging and reading.

    I’m not worrying about Midterms at all because I’m comfortable with them. I’m exempting a few so I have more than enough time to study.

     
    • purplume

      December 10, 2009 at 5:57 pm

      You have your life masterfully in hand. When we are taking it easy, it makes it work magically.

       
  3. Anamaris

    December 9, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    My tactic or rather, what I would like my tactic to be, is to let go of perfection. This is not necessarily for Christmas, it would be great if I could embrace it for every aspect of my life. Perfection is such a subjective measurement, not to mention highly unattainable.

    I read this little book by an expat living in Paris, can’t think of the name of the series, but there was a chapter in which he describes the beauty of the city and how he was sitting at a cafe taking it all in. He then watches the tourists around him who were too busy looking at their guide books for the next stop to appreciate the one they were standing on.

    Living in the moment, enjoying the now warts and all, maybe that’s my tactic.

    PS: see, I rambled and befuddled my thoughts–sans perfection

     
    • purplume

      December 10, 2009 at 5:59 pm

      I am getting so much from these responses. Thank you Anamaris and all of you. Today I am focusing on Family first, ease and staying present in the moment.
      It’s a great day already.

       
    • purplume

      December 21, 2009 at 5:35 pm

      Living in the moment solves so many challenges. I can handle a moment of life, now if I could just stay there. Thanks for your comment.

       
  4. Jennifer

    December 10, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    My situation is a bit different than most, I suspect. I work as a church secretary, and Christmas is our big big deal of the year (Easter too, but not quite so much). My holiday related stress comes from having too much to do at work to get everything ready for the services, the events, the big deals.

    How do I relax? Every night when I pull up in our driveway, I stop the car, and sit there and look at the lights on our porch. They are all blue and silver and they soothe me. Our decorations make me feel at peace, so I sit there for a moment and just look.

    Then I take a deep breath and head inside to spend the evenings with my husband in as much relative quiet as is possible.

     
    • purplume

      December 10, 2009 at 6:01 pm

      Jennifer, Your post emotes peace and relaxation. It reminds me to focus on the beauty around me. I love quiet evenings, especially now when it gets dark earlier. : )

       

Leave a Reply

