RSS

The Three Most Selfish Reasons Ever Why I Prefer Eastern Medicine. By J.B. Vadeboncoeur

14 Dec

Perhaps I am not a good one to point this out because I enjoy excellent health. OR maybe that is exactly why I get to say this.

Most of my working life was spent working as a registered nurse. Most of my working life, I was considering how I could escape from that job. It can be very fulfilling to be able to assist someone. Yet, on a gut level much of what I did went against my internal beliefs.

1.  Eastern medicine inherently has tremendous respect for the human body and it’s healing powers. Western medicine also knows that healing comes from within; the body has to heal itself. The job of medicine is to promote that healing. I find more respect for the person and their body in Eastern medicine.

For me, when I go to an Eastern medicine practitioner, they start with wherever my state of health is at the moment and support it to improve. Western doctors have told me to come back when I worsen, that my condition is not worth treating now. Personally, I like prevention. Another area where you and I may differ in our approach is that I will do a lot to prevent poor health.

2.  In my experience, side effects are much less common. Treatment with supplements and herbs doesn’t not leave me with my most common side effect to Western pharmaceuticals; nausea. Mother Nature loves me and it is mutual.

3.  It works for me. I am a Caucasian of European descent. Yet, my basic self is Japanese. My body is most happy eating an Asian diet. In all fairness, if you are not that way, maybe your experience is different.

Regular acupuncture works for me to keep the migraines away, that I have struggled with for years.  And it does it without any pharmaceuticals.

For some problems, Western medicine cannot be beat. I had my hernia repaired surgically. If a family member had a stroke or heart attack, I would have them at the local hospital ASAP and be grateful it is there.

In the meantime, you can find me regularly at my acupuncturist and my chiropractor, dancing all the way.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Three Most Selfish Reasons Ever Why I Prefer Eastern Medicine. By J.B. Vadeboncoeur

  1. Jennifer

    December 14, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    I have absolutely no problem with eastern medicine, in its place. As you said, there are times when it doesn’t meet the need, and western medicine and advancement is necessary. Although I don’t go to an acupuncturist, the thought that they could help relieve migraines intrigues me.

     
  2. purplume

    December 14, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Thank you for your comments Jennifer. Acupuncture works well for my migraines which are caused by a neck injury, sensitivities and hormonal influences.
    Like I say my reasons are selfish and experiential. I support all of us in finding and going with what works.

     

Leave a Reply

