RSS

Do Middle Grade Readers Read e-books?

20 Dec

Here’s my first poll – Do the middle grade readers in your experience read eBooks, very much of the time? Please vote below.

My guess is that eBook readership is increasing all the time. Please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

According to the comments on The Gadgeteer blog, my impression is that children who have been exposed to eBooks like them. Have the middle graders in your experience been exposed to eBooks? I’m eager to hear what you have to say.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 20, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Do Middle Grade Readers Read e-books?

  1. Robin

    December 21, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    An interesting question — especially as reading declines but new technologies increase. Can technology boost reading? It certainly doesn’t replace it!

     
    • purplume

      December 21, 2009 at 11:16 pm

      Interesting. I remember as a child my grandparents concerns that we were being ‘ruined’ by TV. Technology sure has changed our world. Boosting reading would be valuable. : )

       
  2. themindofifer

    December 22, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    I honestly don’t know any middle grade readers, so I can’t say from that perspective. I can say as an avid reader myself, I am looking forward to the Kindle I am getting for Christmas for the ease of reading that it will provide me. It will never take the place of the magical smell and feeling of a library, but it will make it possible for me to read so much more.

     
  3. purplume

    December 23, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Yes, that will be interesting to see how it plays out for you, especially in terms of amount of reading and ease.

     

Leave a Reply

