RSS

Matcha Tea at home

05 Jan

Most days I have matcha at midmorning when my day settles down a little.

I eat a tea sweet while the water is heating. I get them from Costco here in Hawaii. They only have them in the fall.

Then I take my Matcha out of the freezer. I get it from Matcha and More. They order it from Japan when you place your order. It comes in two weeks. My current favorite is Kiun or Joyous Clouds.

Measure two scoops, ( approximately 1/4 teaspoon), of powdered green tea using a curved bamboo measure.

Add hot water, (1/3 cup more or less), and whisk with a bamboo whisk. It’s cut from a single piece of bamboo. Use it at first to mash up any lumps, then beat till frothy.

Then hold up your bowl and say “ita daki mas.” One translation is, “I receive.”

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2010 in How to, Japan

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Matcha Tea at home

  1. themindofifer

    January 5, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Never thought to get tea for home. We order the powdered miso soup packets, and yakisoba online though. The internet is a wonderful thing in helping to keep a bit of the past with me at all times.

     
  2. themindofifer

    January 5, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    random question too… what plugin or program do you use that allows you to group your replies with the original comment? I must have it!

     
    • purplume

      January 5, 2010 at 7:21 pm

      It’s a wordpress feature. On each comment made there is a reply link. If I use that it connects the two. I see you have wordpress.
      On my comment after the date, there should be a reply link? Yes?

       
      • themindofifer

        January 5, 2010 at 7:32 pm

        on your blog, yes, but on my blog, instead of reply, it says “edit”… there is no direct reply feature, just a general response feature

         
      • themindofifer

        January 5, 2010 at 7:36 pm

        I figured it out… I had to get a plugin to thread the comments… apparently the theme I use didnt include it automatically… cool

         
    • purplume

      January 5, 2010 at 7:37 pm

      This last comment from you only has edit, so I clicked on your original comment in this thread. My earlier comments from you have reply and edit. Might it be a feature of certain themes?

       
  3. Ann Trenton

    August 24, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    The best part about Matcha is that you consume the whole leaf, not just the brew from steeping the tea leaves like other teas. Therefore, you ingest the richest nutrients and fiber of the plant. And it is best to serve and prepare at home.

     

Leave a Reply

