RSS

Travel To Japan – Bathroom fixtures

06 Jan

Before I went to Japan, a co-worker of mine told me about a gift they had received from a friend who traveled to Japan. The friend, (knowing my co-worker’s husband built houses), brought him back a toilet paper holder.

She described it to me. There are two little projections that hold the toilet paper roll.

Instead of taking the roll off the holder and removing the metal bar that holds the roll in place; these two appendages lift up and release or grab a roll. Much quicker and easier to replace a roll.


This is one of the many innovations of the Japanese. A Japanese toilet is a whole other post.

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2010 in How to, Japan

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Travel To Japan – Bathroom fixtures

  1. themindofifer

    January 6, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    I was thinking about the Japanese toilets when I first saw this post title. They are indeed an entire different topic.

     
    • purplume

      January 7, 2010 at 5:11 am

      Yes indeed. I hope I can find pictures of some. 😄

       
  2. FattyFatFat

    January 6, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    At first, I didn’t think that the holder sounded like it would be any easier than what we use today.. but then I guess it sank a little deeper into my brain.. That is quite a convenient little gadget! What will those Crazy Japanese think of next? =)

     
    • purplume

      January 7, 2010 at 5:12 am

      Yes, they are amazing. I wonder what common place thing we could improve on?

       
  3. ashc014

    January 7, 2010 at 4:36 am

    That is one neat gadget. It would be great for around here. I can never get toilet paper to stay on a holder. I usually barely touch it, and the roll falls off while I get hit with the slingshot of a bar.

    Sorry I haven’t commented you any (Ashley fromLife Is Beautiful). I just made myself a username for WordPress! I do want to say thank you for reading my blog and leaving such wonderful comments.

     
    • purplume

      January 7, 2010 at 5:14 am

      You’re welcome Ashley. I enjoy your blog. thanks for coming by.
      I know, more often than not the center bar falls. 😄

       
  4. blkdrama

    January 7, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    How interesting. We don’t usually think about this small but very important tool.
    Bonnie

     
  5. chefyourself

    January 11, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    OK, have you seen any of the Sound Princess gadgets? I saw that on Oprah. Apparently they’re in bathrooms to disguise women’s potty sounds. How funny and clever is that?

     
    • purplume

      January 12, 2010 at 9:36 pm

      Funny for sure. I could use that. 😄

       

Leave a Reply

