RSS

Oneness

11 Jan

Once I went to water aerobics and felt social anxiety. I observed myself thinking things like, other people don’t like me. I stopped those thoughts and asked for the ‘light’, the energy of the universe to fill me. As I did the exercises, I envisioned light coming out of the ends of my limbs and spreading through the water to the others. Then instead of feeling anxious, I felt like I was contributing and in that I felt worthwhile just being who I was and doing the class.

Before that I was caught up in thinking that because I didn’t want to join in other group activities that they would reject me.

I was after a way to feel that I am enough and that I have something of value to offer. What I got was a sense of oneness where being enough isn’t an issue.

In the above example, my demands on myself changed from thinking I had to do more activities to be accepted by the group; to feeling content with doing this class and knowing I was sending positive energy to all. In that, I was acceptable to myself and acceptance by the others didn’t matter to me.

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2010 in How to

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Oneness

  1. themindofifer

    January 12, 2010 at 4:13 am

    That is the struggle sometimes, I believe. Learning to accept yourself, and learning to let go of the weightiness that we give the opinions of others.

     
  2. purplume

    January 12, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Yes and some of us are slow learners. XD

     

Leave a Reply

