RSS

Travel to Japan – Samue

12 Jan

When I was served dinner at a ryokan, It was by a beautiful woman in a kimono. For breakfast the next day the wait staff wore samue.

Samu means everyday labor and -e means clothes. Buddhist monks have worn the samue for centuries.

The samue wore by the wait staff were in pretty colors. I bought these navy blue ones to wear like scrubs. They are very comfortable.

At a flea market in Japan, I bought this top. It is my favorite jacket because it is comfortable, looks fine without ironing and is lightweight for Hawaiian weather. The inside is lined at the top with cotton fabric with writing printed on it. I think a sack was used for the lining.

I love the indigo color with jeans.

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2010 in Japan, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Travel to Japan – Samue

  1. themindofifer

    January 13, 2010 at 4:15 am

    beautiful, but I am even more curious about what they are laying on… are those Japanese floor mats? Your posts make me miss Japan even more… when is your trip again?

     
    • purplume

      January 13, 2010 at 8:14 am

      Yes bright eyes, they are on tatami mats. I have my den set up Japanese style.
      I go to Japan the last two weeks in October. : )

       
  2. Myfanwy

    January 13, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Somehow the Japanese do blue and white better than anyone else. I love those clothes!

     
    • purplume

      January 13, 2010 at 3:45 pm

      Thanks, I agree. I think the jacket is indigo. That’s another thing I want to look for more of. 😄

       
    • purplume

      January 16, 2010 at 10:03 pm

      Thank you, I love the indigo fabrics they make.

       
  3. AmyH

    January 15, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    They look super comfy.

     

Leave a Reply

