RSS

Travel To Japan – Omori-Cho

13 Jan

Another favorite place that I am longing to return to is Omori-Cho. When I googled it I found Steve Biemel had written about it

Count me as one of those who was enchanted and longs to return there.

Matsuba Tomi-san organized a meal for our large tour group. Yes it was delicious, served family style and cooked in a very old kitchen. One of the many things that is forever in my memory was what they did with an ordinary white paper cup.

They put a leaf on each cup and tied it with blue string. They added a small square of fabric, and it looked so lovely. I kept my paper cup and brought it home with me. It still impacts positively on me, what they did with a few simple things.

The hospitality was very gracious. A man from the town, I think he is the one pictured in Steve Biemel’s blog entertained us by acting out a Japanese tale. I never saw anyone so agile and fluid in his movements.

The chopsticks we used at dinner were similar to these in the photo.

Theirs had undulations on most of the chopstick, as opposed to the ones in the photo with a few at the end. It made them so comfortable to grip.

It was even more impressive to me to know that these people had brought a ghost town back to life.

© 2010 Jeanne Litt All rights reserved.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2010 in Japan, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Travel To Japan – Omori-Cho

  1. blkdrama

    January 14, 2010 at 12:22 am

    I love those chopsticks. What are they made from? My food experience in China was not so good. Eating out in the countryside, in city spots was challenging. The safest places were in the international hotels.
    Bonnie

     
    • purplume

      January 16, 2010 at 10:19 pm

      The chopsticks are made of wood, blkdrama, I don’t know what kind.
      People I know went on a tour to China and said the same thing. They really didn’t like the food except in the hotels. 😄

       
      • purplume

        January 16, 2010 at 10:28 pm

        I think the lacquered sticks are harder to use. The unfinished wood ones have more grip than slip. : )

         
  2. Jennifer

    January 14, 2010 at 4:44 am

    My favorite memory of food in Japan was the street vendors that sold Yakisoba during the festivals… frying the noodles fresh, and handing them to you hot and steaming on a chilly evening… talk about comfort food.

    And chopsticks… have you seen the kids chopsticks that have the circle grips on them? They prevent the chopsticks from falling off the kid’s fingers while they learn to use them.

     
    • purplume

      January 16, 2010 at 10:24 pm

      Your Yakisobe, sounds good. I love comfort.

      I’ve only seen kid’s chopsticks that are attached together to make it easier. Oh I see, I found a picture on line, The ring is for their thumb?

       
  3. AmyH

    January 15, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    I would love to learn to use chopsticks. What a great post. I have never traveled to Japan, but this post makes me long to.

     
    • purplume

      January 16, 2010 at 10:27 pm

      With a little practice, chopsticks are easy. Asians hold their bowl up to their mouth too so you don’t have so far to drop the food.

      It makes me long to go too. 😄

       

Leave a Reply

