RSS

Friday For Friends – Book Review – A Doll In The Wall by Thea Phipps

14 Jan

BOOK REVIEW

TITLE: The Doll In The Wall

AUTHOR: Thea Phipps

PUBLISHER: Xlibris Corporation (October 27, 2009)

Paperback: 344 pages

PRICE: $19.99

Before Christmas I was lucky to win a copy of Thea Phipps book, The Doll In The Wall.

Thea Phipps bio lets you know she is funny and fun, so I was looking forward to reading her book The Doll In The Wall. I love a good mystery and humor makes it that much better.

Early on she got to me with a presence that came through in her choice of words.

Pg. 65 ROFL

Pg. 189 I’m stumped by the intricate mystery here.

The description of fallen petals like confetti speaks to me.

Pg. 116 reminds me of the first time I kissed a boy. (sigh)

I love that Thea brings up the difference between being unaware of someone vs. ignoring them, perhaps because you have such regard for them.

Pg. 270 Thea uses chess in a brilliant way.

Here is a photo of my “cheat sheets” as I was determined to solve this mystery.

Pg. 288 LOL, tears in my eyes.

This was a satisfying read,well plotted and well wrapped up. Later I found myself missing the characters. I love when that happens. Thank you Thea

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2010 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Friday For Friends – Book Review – A Doll In The Wall by Thea Phipps

  1. Thea Phipps

    January 14, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    I was so pleased and excited to read your review of my book, I literally got short of breath . . . 😀 Thank you for getting the jokes, enjoying the characters, and trusting me when you buckled yourself in for the ride. I had so much fun when I wrote the book, and it makes me so happy when I can pass the fun on to others. Thank you, and Thank you again for reading my book with a smile, and Thank you 3 times for such a wonderful review!

     
    • purplume

      January 16, 2010 at 10:08 pm

      You are welcome Thea. Thank you for the book. I still laugh about the aunts taking the Saab. They are my age you know. Yikes.

       
  2. Jennifer

    January 15, 2010 at 4:22 am

    Hmmm… interesting. I might have to add this one to my list. And speaking of lists, you always comment on my blog reviews that you aren’t going to add those books to your stack, but you have never revealed what might be on that stack already… Inquiring minds want to know!
    (Actually I am just always curious to know what other readers are reading)

     
    • purplume

      January 16, 2010 at 10:15 pm

      Hi Jennifer,
      Well, I don’t like pressure. On my stack right now are mostly books about Japan that I wnat to read before I go there. Now that the holidays are over, it’s time to get started on them, at least 20 of them.
      There is a book I got for Christmas called Magic, Mensa and Mayhem by Karina L. Fabian. She gave a couple of writer’s presentations that were very helpful especially regarding world building. She was personally helpful to me in a forum re: having your characters speak a different language. So I want to read her book to help me with my writing.
      Other than these, I read mostly middle grade, because that is what I write. (Who says I’m 12 years old on a good day?) One I have here to read is by Jane Yolen and Robert Harris called Queen’s Own Fool.
      Enough already. 😄

       
  3. Ashley

    January 15, 2010 at 5:18 am

    Looks like I’ll have to find this one to add to my ever growing list. As soon as I finish one, about four more get added. hehe..

     
    • purplume

      January 16, 2010 at 10:16 pm

      Isn’t that the truth Ashley.

       

Leave a Reply

