RSS

Friday For Friends – Anamaris’ Chef It Yourself Blog

21 Jan

Today’s featured blogger is Anamaris. She has a blog called Chef It Yourself which features her cooking and her photography. Warning, looking at it will cause you to want to eat and not just anything but something beautiful and delicious looking.

Truth is, I, who avoid cooking, started reading her blog because of NaBloPoMo
It was one of the ones I enjoyed the most. Her pictures are enticing and as she says she “shows you that delicious food doesn’t have to be complicated.”

Today I’m cooking her pork recipe
but instead of a pork shoulder I am using a leg of lamb.

Last Wednesday I made her scallion pancakes.
What amazed me was how satisfying it was on some deep level to cook for myself. I felt like I valued me. My usual breakfast is to put a veggie sausage in the toaster oven. I did use uncooked tortillas instead of making them from scratch.

This past week, Anamaris had her first posting for her Top Chef It Yourself challenge.
You can still join in.

Her husband artist made her gravatar. It’s terrific.

What is your earliest cooking memory? Please tell us about it.

Making these jello cookies with my mom. She used to subscribe to Womans World magazine and there was a recipe for cookies with flavored jello in the batter and a dragee on top. You could make them with any flavor and ended up with pink or green or yellow cookies. I swear I remember them as the best cookies EVAH.

When did you start photography?

I’ve been around cameras since I was a kid, my dad was an avid photographer. He often seemed to forget to load his film, but he always had the camera with him. My first camera was a Sony Disk, I don’t know if anyone remembers those. Going through old albums, I’ve found pictures I took ‘back in the day’. So I guess my interest goes way back.

What is your kitchen like?

It’s a galley style, about 10×4 feet, not big, not even medium-sized. It is the perfect size for 2 cooks though, add a third and you’re crowded. I have a fair amount of counterspace thanks to the fact that the washer & dryer are in that space. It’s cozy, but it’s mine.

What is your favorite cooking tool?

Tough one, I’m not super gadgety, but I have this garlic peeling tube thingamajig. I love it. When my now hubby came over for dinner the first time, I did a little magic dance show with it. I also couldn’t live without my lemon hand squeezer.


Are there foods you don’t like?

BANANAS. I once won a Toastmasters impromptu speech award explaining why I hate them so. When people see me out on the hallway, they still call me Banana Girl. That was about 3 years ago…

If you could give only one piece of advice to would-be cooks, what would it be?

1-Don’t be afraid, there isn’t a recipe you can’t follow. That doesn’t mean you won’t have flops. I do and I have been cooking for over 30 years. If its absolutely inedible, dunk it and try something else.
1b-If you’ve never cooked a thing, start with lower-priced items, that way you don’t feel it’s a major loss if it goes wrong.
1c-Also, remember to have fun with it. Play some music, pour yourself a glass of wine/beer/whatever and go at it.
That still counts as one, right?

This counts as one very complete one. Thank you Anamaris. Today’s post was intended to be filled with Anamaris’ enticing photos and will be when I figure out how to post them. Until then please click on the links.

I love how you sign off Anamaris,
Cookingly yours from both of us.

 
25 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

25 responses to “Friday For Friends – Anamaris’ Chef It Yourself Blog

  1. chefyourself

    January 22, 2010 at 4:03 am

    I feel so special and slightly embarrassed because I’m so giddy. Thanks JB!

     
    • purplume

      January 23, 2010 at 9:15 am

      You deserve it, outstanding blog, you have.

       
  2. Daria

    January 22, 2010 at 4:22 am

    The pork recipe looks delicious, and I don’t much care for pork unless it’s my husband’s schnitzel! heh!

    Anyway, your glowing review of Chef it Yourself has gotten me to pop on over and take a look! =)

    Have a great weekend!!!

     
    • purplume

      January 23, 2010 at 9:16 am

      Did it help you to cook something delicious? Have your best weekend ever, Daria.

       
  3. Amy

    January 22, 2010 at 10:35 am

    I am not a cooker either!

     
    • purplume

      January 23, 2010 at 9:17 am

      Well then watch out if you read Chef It Yourself Amy, she will entice you. 😄

       
  4. Myfanwy

    January 22, 2010 at 10:40 am

    What a wonderful resource. Thanks for pointing me there…

     
    • purplume

      January 23, 2010 at 9:18 am

      You’re welcome Myfanwy. Enjoy.
      😄

       
  5. Holly L

    January 22, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Great interview…scallion pancakes…yum!

    Stoppin’ by from Friday Follow!…where do I follow at?

    Holly @ 504 Main

     
    • purplume

      January 22, 2010 at 2:15 pm

      Holly, do you mean I’m supposed to put a link button on my post? Or do you just come and comment like you did?

       
  6. Arlene

    January 22, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    I like your Featured Friday. I just discovered Anamaris’ blog and now yours. Don’t you just love foodies!

     
    • purplume

      January 23, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Yes, I need a live in foodie. Oh I guess I’m it.

       
  7. Cinde

    January 22, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Thanks for the Friday Follow!

    I would like to follow you but I don’t see a followers list. Let me know if I have missed it and I will re-visit and follow. 🙂

     
    • purplume

      January 23, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Thanks Cinde, I am on the list, do I need to have a button on my post?

       
  8. Dimes2Vines

    January 23, 2010 at 12:14 am

    Hi from Friday Follow. Thanks for the follow but I can’t see where to follow back. I’;; come back later.

     
    • purplume

      January 23, 2010 at 9:20 am

      Thanks Dimes, see above, do I need to have a button?

       
  9. Joyful

    January 23, 2010 at 1:39 am

    I Love to cook from recipes. In fact that’s about the only way I cook.
    My mom just gave me her years & years worth of recipes.
    I look forward to posting them on my blog.

    *Friday Follow*

     
    • purplume

      January 23, 2010 at 9:11 am

      Me too, I moved once and realized I was floundering at cooking without a recipe.
      Looking forward to seeing yours.

       
  10. chefyourself

    January 23, 2010 at 8:53 am

    I sure could use your help.

    Please help me pick the 1st Top Chef It Yourself Challenge winner – vote here http://wp.me/pFzw3-eI

     
  11. Kelly

    January 23, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    I love cooking!!! But hardly could find time to cook lately 😦

     
    • purplume

      January 25, 2010 at 8:56 am

      Me too. I have the time but don’t usually want to give it up to cooking. That impressed me about Anamaris. She encouraged me when I started putting in my inevitable shortcuts, e.g. using uncooked tortillas instead of making them from flour. Come to think of it, I want one of her scallion pancakes now filled with some vegetables, whatever ones are already washed. 😄

       
  12. katie o.

    January 24, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Chef Yourself is such a great blog! Everytime I check it, I end up hungrier than I was before. 🙂

     
    • purplume

      January 25, 2010 at 8:57 am

      Me too, Katie even if I just ate, which I usually have done. : )

       

Leave a Reply

