RSS

The First Dozen Most Ludicrous CAPTCHA Definitions For Those Who Try To Make Sense Of Their Word Verifications.

23 Jan

Phygimus

Do you find yourself trying to make sense out of CAPTCHA, those word verifications that you enter to let the web know you are not a machine?

 

By Claudia*-Assad

 

The term “CAPTCHA” (based upon the word capture) was coined in 2000 by Luis von Ahn, Manuel Blum, Nicholas J. Hopper, and John Langford (all of Carnegie Mellon University). It is a contrived acronym for “Completely Automated Public Turing test to tell Computers and Humans Apart.”

Does a dozen definitions distract, delight and dismay you? Here they are hot off the neurons of a certified non machine.

jurvetson

1. Pyhlsh – a well dressed person who phishes.

2. Entwit – the intestines of a bothersome person.

3. Ditings – the sound made by manual typewriters.

4. Drexho – a loose woman who associates with Drex in the Morning.

5. Encialk – an enchalada made with chalk for people with pica.

6. Aphang – One of the front lateral incisors of a vampire or werewolf.

7. Bessper – The mother of Geraldo Rivera on April 7, 2007.

8. Corpo – a white blood cell of an obese head, of an incorporated business is a corpulent corporate corpuscle or corpo for short.

9. Itslyl – your place to buy and sell all things information technology.

10. Unkepic – a messy long narrative.

11. Imbagrap – Rap music popularized by bag ladies and played exclusively on instant messaging.

12. Bandited – being robbed by a thief wearing a bandanna or visible band aids or both.

Send me your huddled masses of CAPTCHA and I will be most grateful.

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2010 in Uncategorized, writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “The First Dozen Most Ludicrous CAPTCHA Definitions For Those Who Try To Make Sense Of Their Word Verifications.

  1. blkdrama

    January 24, 2010 at 2:23 am

    That’s so cool. They always annoy me. Now I’ll think twice about them
    Bonnie

     
    • purplume

      January 25, 2010 at 8:39 am

      Oh good Bonnie. I love it if I can improve anything, 😄

       
  2. Robin

    January 24, 2010 at 8:06 am

    So, I have to ask: is Perplume a CAPTCHA by any chance? Some I like are japandallas (a panda who moves from Tokyo to Dallas) and bottoil (a bottle designed to hold cooking oil. Or a boil on one’s bottom, depending on you perspective!)

     
    • purplume

      January 25, 2010 at 8:42 am

      Robin, No purplume is Purple Plume shortened because the later was unavailable. Purple Plume is a name that came to me in a creative visualization process about my work.
      OMG, these captcha’s are terrific. Did you make them up? I am lol.
      😄

       
  3. Jeanine

    January 24, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Very clever!! I wish I thought like this!!! 🙂
    Thanks for visiting me!! I’m a new follower!

     
    • purplume

      January 25, 2010 at 8:43 am

      Thank you Jeanine. Yes this is how I think. 😄 Thanks for visiting back.

       
  4. It's just Me

    January 25, 2010 at 6:13 am

    Drexho.. that is funny! =)

    I don’t know if it’s CAPTCHA, but I like the format that takes two words that are completely different. I find myself trying to figure out how/ why they go together. “Soda” & “Buckle” – Really??? lol!

     
    • purplume

      January 25, 2010 at 8:53 am

      Me too. I think they are CAPTCHA. I don’t run into those very often. I always try to figure them out too. 😄

       
  5. Ashley

    January 25, 2010 at 11:01 am

    haha.. I swear that sometimes the words I see are words I have heard used before. Even though they are extremely strange I just know they have been said out loud to me before.

    Goodness, I’ve been horrible at reading your blog lately! Man, I’m such a horrible blogger! I’m getting better though! 😀

    Thanks for always stopping by and leaving such great comments. I always love when I see I have one from ya!

     
  6. purplume

    January 25, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Haha, yes, I see maybe they seem like words to me because of misspelling words anyway.
    Thank you for the compliment. Your blog lends itself to comments.

     
  7. chefyourself

    February 1, 2010 at 11:56 am

    LOL – This is my absolute favorite one:
    Drexho – a loose woman who associates with Drex in the Morning.
    Though I’m wondering why she associates with him in the mornings.

     
    • purplume

      February 7, 2010 at 6:27 pm

      I don’t know, but I like morning best myself. 😄

       

Leave a Reply

