RSS

On Honest Scrap

03 Feb

Verbosity blog nominated me for this award. It means I get  to write ten honest factoids about myself.

Me, who removed a half dozen posts that I decided were too personal. Well here goes. For your entertainment:

1.  When I was 40 and divorced and wanted to be married, I asked my dead grandmother, (she had a husband who adored her) to help me find a husband. I did it in a student counseling trio and when the trio ended and we went on a break, a man came up to me and asked to do the next trio with me. We’ve been married 17 years and it’s very good.

2. When driving from NY to Florida with children, I brought lots of healthy snacks and juice. I didn’t realize that meant we would need to take potty breaks so often. Finally I had my toddler daughter pee in a paper cup and I tossed it out the window as we drove along.

My sons started saying it’s hitting the car behind us. I said, “It can’t be, what are the odds of that?” And I heard, “Mom he put on his windshield wipers.”

3.  I’m the oldest of ten children. I had two older brothers who passed away.  So now I’m the oldest, but I wanted to be the smartest and prettiest, not the oldest.

4.  I’ve spent the last 3 1/2 years submitting my novel to publishers without success. I realize the experience I’m looking for is having my writing be of help to or mean something to someone. Blogging is doing that for me.

5.  I converse with devas in my garden. I ask if plants need more water or fertilizer and what kind. Yes, I get answers back too.

6.  In a psychosynthesis process an inner aspect of mine came forward and said she was in charge of my career and that her name was purple plume. She was a purple plume pen.  I have just such a pen on my desk.

7.   Once in NYC, I felt extreme compassion for a homeless woman. Her legs were swollen and oozing. I offered her some money and she started screaming like I was trying to kill her. It was embarrassing to me, but I realized better to leave something at the edge of the trash can.  That’s where she went to get everything and then she got to feel like she earned it herself.

8.  Another time in psychology class, I nurtured my inner child and she was a twinkly eyed girl who likes to tap dance. A dancer in the class gave me a pair of tap shoes. The classes were weekend format and I got home about 2 AM Monday morning. All the way driving home, I was thinking about tap dancing. So when I got in I went in the garage and put the shoes on and was dancing away when all of sudden the door slammed open and my boyfriend was standing there with a shotgun aimed at me.   He was asleep and heard a funny tapping sound. He was in construction and had trouble with people stealing supplies and he thought that was what was going on.

9.  I get to live my ideal day every day. I live in Hawaii and don’t work. I write a few hours, exercise a few hours, garden a bit and most nights watch a movie with my husband. How blessed is that?

10. When I was divorced and struggling to suddenly support four of us, I reminded myself that my father supported 12 of us. If he could do 12, I could do 4. XD

OMG, I am so exposed. This is fun to get your kind comments. Exposing myself makes me more real. hmm.

I forgot, now I get to nominate 9 others. They are:

Robin

The mind Of Ifer

Denise

Kortney

Daria

Sheila

La Vida Dulce

Thea Phipps

Angela Cerrito

<p> © 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur </p>

 
25 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

25 responses to “On Honest Scrap

  1. Barney

    February 3, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Only 17 years? It seems like 5!!! 😉

     
    • purplume

      February 7, 2010 at 5:56 pm

      The nest ten will seem like 3. XD

       
  2. denise

    February 3, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    these were fun! now i’m wondering about the posts you deleted! where in hawaii do you live? we love visiting…have our children call most adults “auntie” and “uncle” so-and-so after appreciating this in hawaii…i’ll have to check back for gardening tips…i studied psychology (and taught it for awhile) so i’m always interested in people’s analyses of themselves, motivations, experiences that have shaped them, etc…i use these things daily and work through a lot of issues blogging…i’m enjoying following yours!

     
    • purplume

      February 7, 2010 at 6:00 pm

      I live in Waikoloa on the big island. It’s in the Northwest part.
      The gardening tips I get are specific to this time and place, not general, not usually anyway. I haven’t posted them, just a little about my compost pile.
      I love psychology too. XD It’s challenging for me to read your blog with the dark background.

       
  3. Jennifer

    February 4, 2010 at 4:02 am

    I like these kinds of posts…. I feel like I got to know you so much better in this one post 🙂

     
    • purplume

      February 7, 2010 at 6:01 pm

      Thanks Jennifer, I agree, It seemed risky to be so open, now it’s very worth it.
      XD

       
  4. Kortney

    February 4, 2010 at 6:35 am

    I love the honesty. Not that you put on a blog persona, but it is hard not to filter. I find you fascinating, interesting and spend free time reading your blog. It makes me itch to read your novel.

    I am inspired. I have been a divorced mother of 4, who makes it through the day by dancing to the tunes in my head, making dinner in my bathing suit in December just because I feel like it and drawing a tree woman on my bedroom wall in crayon because I had a dream I didn’t want to forget. I love that you talk in the garden, consulted grandma for your husband and tap danced your boyfriend into a frenzy.

    You rock.

     
    • purplume

      February 7, 2010 at 6:04 pm

      Thanks Kortney. I toy with the idea of offering my novel as an e-book. It’s Middle grade. I think children are less likely to read an e-book?
      You rock. Lady too wanna dance around like a banshee with me?

       
  5. nuvofelt

    February 4, 2010 at 8:26 am

    Thanks for letting us into your life. It’s good to get to know you better.

     
    • purplume

      February 7, 2010 at 6:05 pm

      You are welcome into my life. XD

       
  6. Daria

    February 5, 2010 at 4:49 am

    I didn’t know that you lived in Hawaii! That is so great! My husband grew up with a guy who went there on vacation (I believe he’s on the Big island), and never returned. =)

    Well, he has visited a couple of times, but you know what I mean.. =) We are trying to make plans to visit him in the near future because neither of us have been there.

    And thanks for the nomination!!! I feel so warm and fuzzy…. What a great Friday.. =)

     
    • purplume

      February 7, 2010 at 6:06 pm

      Stay warm and fuzzy. that’s what happened to me too except it took a few years to get back here. Watch out if you come for vacation – you get hooked.

       
    • purplume

      February 7, 2010 at 6:07 pm

      Thanks so much for putting out such a solidly good blog.

       
  7. mariescottstudios

    February 9, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Thanks for sharing those stories. I loved hearing about your tap dancing incident. Also cool to hear that you love your life in Hawaii!

     
    • purplume

      February 15, 2010 at 9:33 pm

      Thank you Marie. It’s interesting to risk sharing and get positive feedback.

       
  8. Kris

    February 9, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I really enjoy these kinds of posts. It’s so interesting to get a glimpse into someone else’s life. Especially when it’s so different than my own. Thanks for sharing!

     
    • purplume

      February 15, 2010 at 9:33 pm

      You’re welcome Kris. I like to read these kinds of posts too.

       
  9. chefyourself

    February 11, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    OK, I’m calling it. #9 was just mean and uncalled for! Brag much? I got a rare glimpse of the sun on Saturday, but it’s been about 3 weeks of gloom here. A real rarity in Houston.

    I will let #9 slide because I’m still laughing about pee on the windshield.

     
    • purplume

      February 15, 2010 at 9:36 pm

      I’m still laughing about the pee too.
      Well Miss Anamaris. I think if you made an observation about your life, we might be tempted to say you brag too. You did say the gloom is rare.
      Someone has to live here, so I volunteered.

       
  10. Solnushka

    February 13, 2010 at 3:19 am

    Great choic of facts. I’m glad you decided to expose yourself.You are clearlya very intutive and insightful person. I am very impressed by your homeless woman incident.

    I have just realised what a terrible person I am though, in that I am now itching to repeat your episode with your daughter in the ca with my son one day…

     
    • purplume

      February 15, 2010 at 9:37 pm

      Oh no, does that mean we are both terrible. hm terrific isn’t so far from terrible. XD

       
  11. Angela Cerrito

    February 13, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Oh, I love this list – espec #9 and the tap dancing!

     
  12. purplume

    February 15, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Thanks Angela. I’m gonna have to dig out my shoes.

     

Leave a Reply

