RSS

Friday For Friends – Book Review The Timekeeper’s Moon by Joni Sensel

04 Feb

This past week I was reminded that true abundance is not just money. It’s all the important things like health, happimess, loving, caring,  sharing and especially like getting an advance copy of one of your favorite author’s new books to read.

TITLE: The Timekeeper”s Moon

AUTHOR: Joni Sensel

PUBLISHER: Bloomsbury Publishing

HARDCOVER:  352 pages

READING LEVEL: 9-12

The Timekeeper’s Moon comes out on March 2 2010. Last fall I read The Farwalker’s Quest, the first book in this series by Joni Sensel.  It was so good that I was longing for this second book.

And The Timekeeper’s Moon lives up to it’s heritage. I found myself a little slower to get completely enthralled in it, (about 75 pages) and then I was entranced. My husband (who read the book whenever I put it down), was hooked from the start.

Nature is a big part of these well written, intricately woven stories that satisfy completely. I love the cleverness of the author, in the way knowledge was preserved and in the complexity of the map involved. I like the way she uses natural phenomenon and current technology in a future that has lost it and is struggling to rediscover it.

What I love best, is that she exposes children to healthy relationships and sexuality. She also shows us how differently-abled a person is instead of disabled.

We have new characters and miss some of the old ones.
Ms. Sensel leaves us set up for a third book in the series – more abundance.

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Friday For Friends – Book Review The Timekeeper’s Moon by Joni Sensel

  1. Summeranne

    February 6, 2010 at 11:20 am

    I’ve been looking for good book that I won’t be able to put down! I may have to check out this series!

     
    • purplume

      February 7, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      Yes. let me know how you like it. I have one of her earlier books on my list to read also. XD

       
  2. Busted

    February 8, 2010 at 6:36 am

    This sounds like a great book. I’m looking forward to it’s release.

     
    • purplume

      February 8, 2010 at 8:02 pm

      Yes, well worth it. XD

       
  3. denise

    February 8, 2010 at 7:40 am

    i really need to make more time for reading…maybe after i do nablopomo this month…enjoy hearing about good reads!

     
    • purplume

      February 8, 2010 at 8:03 pm

      Yes, I like to fit in a little reading time at bedtime. XD

       

Leave a Reply

