RSS

In Search Of A Better Cup Of Coffee

22 Feb

My favorite cup

A friend of mine told me the best cup of coffee she ever had was in Kona, Hawaii; not surprising, Kona coffee is smooth and full bodied.

What is surprising is that she had it when staying at a boyfriend’s mother’s house. The mother roasted green coffee beans, then ground them and served her the best cuppa Joe she ever had.

I grow coffee. My yield was 11 ounces this year. I roasted some on Christmas morning. Today I have a sore throat and will be taking it easy, so I spent 45 minutes roasting coffee beans in a cast iron skillet. I stood right there and kept stirring them. I removed beans as they got rich dark brown.

In the past I might have roasted the whole batch at once in my oven. I  roast them on a strainer, to keep them more exposed to air, stirring after every 10 minutes.

But now I just cook what I need in a small skillet. That way I have fresh roasted flavor each time.

After making the coffee in my french press, I filter it through a coffee filter. I do this since reading at Oprah’s web page that coffee contains terpenes that can be easily filtered out. If not it contributes to high cholesterol.

It tasted great. I don’t live in Kona and my coffee trees struggle because they would prefer a higher elevation. My beans are smaller than usual ones, but they deliver on flavor. I’m grateful because that is what I’m after.

My husband named my coffee, Jeanne D’Arc Roast after Joan of Arc. I like that.

For information on harvesting coffee see here.

© 2010 Jeanne Litt All rights reserved.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2010 in Abundance, garden, How to

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 responses to “In Search Of A Better Cup Of Coffee

  1. Thea Phipps

    February 22, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    I was never a coffee connoisseur in those prehistoric Maxwell House days, but after the coffee craze hit, I’ve been slowly learning about GOOD coffee. But every time my husband – who is the true connoisseur – finds a new favorite, we are reminded of a less-than-savory coffee fact that we once learned at a gourmet coffee house: That the most expensive, sought after, rarest coffee in the world is a coffee from South America. The coffee is made from beans that have first been passed through the digestive tract of a goat… Seriously… and all I can think when I am reminded of that, is who was the idiot that brewed and drank the first cup?

     
  2. purplume

    February 22, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Ha ha For sure. I don’t want to try that coffee. I wonder what happens to it that is so good?

     
  3. denise

    February 22, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    wish i was there to share a cup with you right now! i love french press coffee and yes, my favorite cup ever was in kona (i’ve tried to buy kona coffee since and it was something about BEING there and being fresher i think)…so cool that you grow and roast your own! that sounds delightful…

     
    • purplume

      February 22, 2010 at 2:38 pm

      I wish you could have a cup too. I buy Kona coffee from a farmer and sometimes it tastes much better than others. I don’t know what it is. The farmer did tell me when it is first picked it doesn’t taste as good as three or four months later.

       
  4. Thea Phipps

    February 22, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    Hi, JB! I have a new blog out and I have something for you on it 🙂

     
  5. Kortney

    February 22, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I could almost smell your beans from the pictures. I love coffee and friends of ours that visit Hawaii every year always bring me some back. MMMMmmm.. Coffee and blog reading. Good stuff.

     
  6. ~ifer

    February 23, 2010 at 4:08 am

    I am not a big coffee drinker myself, but I sure do love the smell of it brewing! I can’t imagine actually growing and roasting the beans myself though

     
    • purplume

      February 27, 2010 at 3:39 pm

      Yes the smell is a lot of it’s goodness. A neighbor said is it much work to grow coffee. My husband so oh no, not at all. I dropped my jaw. There are a lot of steps. He’s just never done any of them. It isn’t really work when you like doing it either. He just surprised me cause I would have never said oh no.

       
  7. sheila

    February 24, 2010 at 3:53 am

    Wow!! I’m impressed 🙂

     
    • purplume

      February 27, 2010 at 3:40 pm

      Thanks Sheila. I wish I could give my plants more elevation so they would be happier.

       
  8. gina

    February 24, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Hi! Wanted to thank you for visiting my blog during the OWOH event and leaving a comment! I’m visiting a 2nd time, this time more slowly and savoring, enjoying your inner explorations.

    So nice to meet you!
    🙂

     
    • purplume

      March 1, 2010 at 7:21 pm

      Thank you Gina. I love your tatted pieces. Do they take a long time?

       
  9. Cherylann

    February 24, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    You grow your own beans? Wow! Not sure I could do that in Ontario but it sure sounds interesting!

     
  10. purplume

    March 1, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    As my father says, maybe you could grow them in a greenhouse. They like an elevation of about 1500 feet and warm moist air. I like doing it.

     
  11. chefyourself

    March 9, 2010 at 2:48 am

    OMG! You do live in paradise! you grow coffee and secret beautiful skin nuts???!!! I’m moving.

     
    • purplume

      March 14, 2010 at 9:16 pm

      Ok houses here are at their lowest prices ever, the climate is great and it is beautiful. Finding a job is the challenge. XD

       

Leave a Reply

