RSS

Travel To Japan – Rice

24 Feb

As I mentioned in a post about Karatsu, Japan, I liked the rice grown in that area the best of all I tasted.

Steve Biemel told us that when Japan had a rice shortage, they got rice from Thailand and California. They liked the California rice, (it tasted like Japanese rice), while they didn’t like the rice from Thailand. They mixed equal parts of all three kinds of rice and that made it more palatable.

In Japan was the first time I ever noticed these nori strips.

Now I see them here in the states.

Place a strip on your rice.

Scoop rice and nori up with your chopsticks.

Enjoy. Nori is loaded with minerals and low in calories. It adds a salty slightly fishy taste to the rice.

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2010 in How to, Japan

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Travel To Japan – Rice

  1. ~ifer

    February 25, 2010 at 4:02 am

    Nori=yum. And sticky rice is the best, that’s all there is to it.

     
    • purplume

      February 27, 2010 at 3:21 pm

      Really, you like sticky rice? I don’t think I do. Where would I get some?

       
  2. Cole

    February 25, 2010 at 6:21 am

    That sounds yummy – Mommy loves Thai dessert sticky rice with mango and coconut milk, but she likes sushi, too so she’ll have to try out the nori. Do you put vinegar or anything in the rice?

    I’m going to have to point out your blog to Daddy – he’s a foodie!

     
    • purplume

      February 27, 2010 at 3:23 pm

      Thanks Cole, So the sticky rice is a dessert thing? I don’t put vinegar or anything with the rice usually. I like savoring it plain. I used to add broth to the water or soy sauce after but I don’t usually.
      Thanks for the referrral, does your father cook?

       
  3. mandy

    February 25, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Thanks for this!! I am going to try this!!!

     
    • purplume

      February 27, 2010 at 3:24 pm

      You’re welcome Mandy.

       
  4. denise

    February 25, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    i love seaweed and know it is so good for me…my daughter is even named “sea”…will have to try the different rice you suggested. i also love traveling and am jealous you went to japan!

     
    • purplume

      February 27, 2010 at 3:25 pm

      Thanks Denise. Get ready to be jealous again. I’m going in October. Yay, lots of Japanese food.

       

Leave a Reply

