RSS

Travel Hawaii – Review Sansei Retaurant at Waikoloa, Big Island

02 Mar

Sunday was my birthday and we went to my favorite restaurant – Sansei. We got there at 5 PM for a 5:30 opening and there was a long line. On Sundays and Mondays, orders placed before 6PM are 50% off, excluding drinks and market price items.

We were far enough back in the line that I thought we might not make the first seating. We did! We got the last table. Yay birthday fairy.

I have been dreaming about my favorite form of Hamachi, (quotes are from the menu).

7. Japanese Hamachi & Grilled Shiitake Mushroom Tartare – $13
with Truffled Soy Sauce, Orange Tobiko and Shiso Chiffonade

(Minced Yellow-tail mixed with green onion, truffle oil, soy sauce and chopped, grilled Shiitake mushrooms. Topped with orange flying fish roe and thinly sliced shiso)

Photos by me. I forgot to take the picture until I ate some. They have prettier pictures on their website.

My new favorite is _

2. Japanese Hamachi Nori Aioli Poke – $13
served with Crispy Lotus Root Chips

(Diced Yellow-tail and cucumbers tossed in an aioli made from Tsukudani yuzu and mayonnaise and accompanied with house-made crispy lotus root chips)

I ate some and it was orgasmic. I completely forgot to take a picture until it was finished. You can understand why, I was in recovery phase.

My husband ordered a Pipeline  Porter. It was draft. I had to have one of those.

It’s dark, but as smooth and mellow as can be. It’s made by the Kona Brewing Co. and is made with 100% Kona coffee. It is only brewed at the end of the year when the coffee is harvested. I’m glad I got some before it’s gone for the year.

My husband had some Maui teriyaki beef and shrimp and vegetable tempura.

The service is excellent, the ambiance is lovely and the crowd is jovial. On Friday and Saturday nights they have a late night special after 10 PM. Too late for me to be eating.

I love their green tea ice cream but I had my heart set on an eclair. Settled for a cream puff at home.

Now I’m longing to go back for a redo. Yay birthdays.

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

11 responses to “Travel Hawaii – Review Sansei Retaurant at Waikoloa, Big Island

  1. Nadja

    March 2, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Yum. My stomach just growled.

     
    • purplume

      March 3, 2010 at 2:05 pm

      It would purr if you were here. 😄

       
  2. Andrea

    March 2, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Happy Birthday! That looks like an amazing dinner!

     
    • purplume

      March 3, 2010 at 2:05 pm

      Thanks, it was. I want to go more often, ya.

       
  3. krissy knox

    March 5, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Oh, that looks so yummy! I have never tried Japanese. Just Chinese and Korean. My birthday is March 13 and John is taking me downtown to a restraunt I’ve never been to. I think it is Chinese. You’ve inspired me to take pics, girl! Anyway, happy birthday, even if I’m a few days late, and thanks for coming to my blog, sorry it took me so long to get here!

    krissy 🙂

     
  4. purplume

    March 6, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Happy Birthday early Krissy. Yes take pics so we can all see the nice presentation. And get hungry.

     
  5. Robin

    March 7, 2010 at 6:20 am

    Happy Birthday!

     
    • purplume

      March 14, 2010 at 8:53 pm

      Thank you Robin. 😄

       
  6. blurgirlny

    March 12, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    My hubby would love that beer 🙂 I would love that chocolate covered cream puff goodness 🙂

    Tales Of A Fourth Grade Nothing

     
    • purplume

      March 14, 2010 at 8:54 pm

      It was completely satisfyingly lovely, Blurgirlny.

       

Leave a Reply

