RSS

Homelessness Insurance

10 Mar


N B

Driving around, my husband and I saw a young woman begging at the side of the street. The dirtiness of her convinced me that she was homeless.

We stopped to share some take out food we had and I was blown away by the amount of gratitude that came from her.

Energetically it felt like waves of positivity.

I remember thinking, with this attitude, she’s not going to be on the street very long. Sure enough we saw her soon after, by a park. She and her disabled boyfriend had found housing and a job.

Before tithing, I used to have a fear of ending up homeless. The fear banished with tithing and now I see that in addition, I can always do like this lady did and stay in gratitude. Homelessness insurance.

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2010 in Abundance

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Homelessness Insurance

  1. Laura

    March 10, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    That was really very sweet.

     
    • purplume

      March 12, 2010 at 1:37 pm

      Thank you Laura. XD

       
  2. zahirah

    March 10, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    Good for you!

    I used to live in downtown Buenos Aires, and whenever I had leftovers at a meal (not so common down here, where portions are smaller), I’d get it to go (a total social faux pas here) and hand it out to someone on the street.

    One time, I went out to eat with a friend and we took the leftovers to go. Then we went to have coffee in an outdoor café, and a woman came by asking for change. We gave her the food, and I know it was well appreciated.

    This is a great tactic to adopt, especially in the US, where portions are huge.

     
    • purplume

      March 12, 2010 at 1:39 pm

      Thank Zahirah. I think so too. One time I ordered a totally health food meal and was bringing some home to eat later and be good about my diet. I ended up giving it to a homeless person and laughed when I realized how disappointed they probably were when they saw what was in it. No burger and fries.

       
  3. ~ifer

    March 11, 2010 at 4:53 am

    I live in a pretty small town, and truth be told, we really don’t have many homeless people here. Most of them make their way about 10 miles down the road to the bigger town where there are shelters and more charities. I think it is a great idea though 🙂

     
    • purplume

      March 12, 2010 at 1:40 pm

      Thanks Jennifer. This happened in CA. I don’t see homeless in my village here either.

       
  4. Cherylann

    March 11, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    What a great idea! I always assumed tithing had to be in the form of money but I think this kind of tithing would be much more sensible. I don’t go to a church so my tithing is to those who need the help.

     
    • purplume

      March 12, 2010 at 1:43 pm

      Interesting Cherylann. I do tithe to my church. I’ve heard tithing works best if you tithe to the source of your teachings, wherever that is. For one guy I know, it would be Star Trek. : )
      In this post I meant that once I started tithing I no longer feared homelessness, and my experience with this lady showed me that gratitude was an antidote to lack.

       
  5. Kortney

    March 11, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    I like this too. I hate giving money to the homeless because honestly I fear where it will go. But food is a need. Compassion is a need. Love is a need. You’ve provided all three.

     
    • purplume

      March 12, 2010 at 1:44 pm

      Thanks Kortney. that touches me. XD

       

Leave a Reply

