RSS

Facebook Scam

15 Mar

Daveynin

BTW, I love “For Dummies” books.

My facebook logo is gone from this page.

Over the weekend a friend had her facebook account hijacked and used to extort money from her friends.

ToastyKen

Tech crunch talks about a similar thing. My friend believes that because she  had her phone number and yahoo e-mail on facebook, that they were able to do it. I don’t know about that, but if you get a request for money through facebook, be suspicious.

Another friend confronted the scammers, by posting that they were not who they said they were and mentioned police. Soon after, both accounts were deleted.

Because of this I deleted my 2nd facebook account. I changed my remaining account to an e-mail address that doesn’t have any addresses in the contacts list. The scammers also sent e-mail requests for money to the entire yahoo address book.

A month or so ago an acquaintance of mine sent me a message on facebook. She said since we don’t interact, she wanted to cut out her facebook friends in that category and wanted to let me know her plan.

I wrote back that I always thought she was a classy chick and now even more so. I envied her simplifying her friends.

For myself, I was caught up in the “to be a published author you need to promote yourself everywhere.” In that frame of mind I accepted many friends that I have a slight connection with but don’t really know them. BTW, it is believed the scammers came in through a group. I left most of the facebook groups I belonged to.

Years ago when I got divorced, I realized I would rather spend an evening home alone than be with a person or people I don’t care about. Best of all is to be home with my one beloved, but that came later.

In the spirit of the introvert I am and the lover of simplicity, I am sending a message to the people I have friended on FB who have little connection or interaction with me.. Yay, no more friends messages getting lost in all the masses.

Hey does this qualify me as classy chick? I say yes.

BTW, two of you most beloved of readers were on my now deleted FB account. I’ll be sending you a message asking to friend you on my remaining account in the next week or so.

What say ye? Have you or others you know been hacked or scammed?
Here’s an article on blog scams.

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
15 Comments

Posted by on March 15, 2010 in How to

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Facebook Scam

  1. blkdrama

    March 15, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    You share great advice about FB. I thinking about those groups I agreed to join and never even check in on. I’m going to be more careful about the Friends as well
    Bonnie

     
    • purplume

      March 23, 2010 at 7:44 am

      We are left to do eternal vigilance. : )

       
  2. Thea Phipps

    March 15, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    For awhile now I have been thinking about getting off of Facebook. I fell into the same trap as you. I was told that I have to use it as a networking/advertising tool for my writing. However, having to use Facebook this way is beginning to affect me the same way as being around too much tv … slightly depressed. I am far more interested in real life and real friendships than in ‘virtual’ anything. So I want to say ‘Congratulations!’ for being such a classy chick. You’ve helped me make up my mind to join your ranks. Thank you.

     
    • purplume

      March 23, 2010 at 7:45 am

      Thanks Thea. We get to find out what works for us.

      I’m looking forward to your comments being back on line.

       
  3. Cherylann

    March 15, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    I have not praise God and all the saints but both my daughter and my grand-daughter have. I really really dislike people who do things like that. And yes you are a classy chick!

     
    • purplume

      March 23, 2010 at 7:47 am

      Thank you. Yes I dislike con tactics too. You could say pay it forward with good stuff is a reverse con?

       
  4. ~ifer

    March 16, 2010 at 3:03 am

    I have not, but I know many people who have. I am actually considering deleting my own facebook, but that is mainly because I NEVER go there, and it is just waiting for someone to hack it!

     
    • purplume

      March 23, 2010 at 7:49 am

      I sorta think they don’t hack ones with little activity. With this person I know she was very active with almost 500 friends. And they did it during the evening hours when they could have hours before she would see it. Well besides that she couldn’t get in because they changed the password.

      I’m hoping that mine in its pared down state will offer little attraction to them.

       
  5. Angie

    March 16, 2010 at 5:50 am

    I love “For Dummies” books too. I also really enjoy Facebook. Through FB I’ve been able to reconnect with childhood friends that I have not seen in years and years. For me, it’s also a great way to keep up with other adoptive families that we traveled to China with. It’s not for everyone though, and I do know of some one who had her email address hijacked through her Facebook account.

     
    • purplume

      March 23, 2010 at 7:50 am

      I agree. I love reconnecting with old friends.

       
  6. mar4160

    March 16, 2010 at 11:17 am

    I’m really anal about this kind of stuff… I get friend requests from people I don’t know ALL the time! People used to message me asking if I went to some school in Indonesia… Finally I sent a mass message out to those people and said, “I have no clue who this chick is, but I have never gone to school outside of the Midwest (pre Hawaii days) so STOP BUGGING ME!” I haven’t received a message since. But then people from the Middle East started in on me. I never accept requests from people I don’t know, so I think the hackers have finally given up. I actually did “housekeeping” and deleted a bunch of people I do know and just don’t really care to keep updated on haha… possibly taking it a little far, huh?

    Anyway, I think it’s wise to not put any real personal info on there. I actually have it set up so you can’t even see photos of me (even if you are my friend) and you have to be my friend to see my main profile pic. People are just too smart and too creepy these days. My friends account just got hacked though, so I don’t regret being a little crazy about my privacy 🙂

     
    • Marianne

      March 16, 2010 at 5:31 pm

      I think I set up my blog so people can subscribe via email. If you try it out, will you let me know if it works? It’s on the left sidebar under subscribe: posts. And I subscribed to yours/am following. I finally figured that out.

      Mahalo and Aloha!

       
      • purplume

        March 23, 2010 at 8:05 am

        It works for me to get your blog in my goggle reader. Thank you for following me. Love reading about you in today’s post.

         
  7. Angela Cerrito

    March 16, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Good advice!

     

Leave a Reply

