RSS

100th post

17 Mar

I heard of a tradition to write 100 things about yourself for your 100th post. Even my mother would get bored with these. 100 is a lot of I’s.

This  previous post lists ten things that make me happy.

* I’m not older than dirt yet, but I’m older than some lava rock.

* I think I may live to be the oldest person in the world some day.

* It was a golden moment in my life when I decided to live under my own scrutiny.

* The first time I remember confronting someone, I was terrified and did lose their friendship.

* I realized I was never going to be wealthy if I couldn’t say no to people.

* Now, I realize when I confront or set limits with someone and I lose their friendship that is a blessing.

* I had an outdoor pet scorpion. I used to see him every time when I watered my lemon tree. He would come out with his tail up looking very majestic. He’s nocturnal and I woke him up. I haven’t seen him in a year or so. As long as he is not in my house, he can live.

* One morning in my barefeet, I noticed a scorpion under the dining room table, ( not my pet, this one was smaller). I went psycho on him with the pampered chef fly swatter. It is rare that I forget to look at the floor before walking.

* The centipedes here are more fearsome to me. I used to call my husband to catch and kill them. Now I even do it myself. There is a trick to it. You need to keep yourself at a distance or they curl around and bite you.

* We keep an organic yard – no pesticides. I was happy to hear my accupuncturist say that she noticed people who spray and people who don’t have about the same amount of pedes come in the house. We haven’t had one in over a year. I kill any I find when I am working in the yard.

* No scorpions allowed in the house, no centipedes in the entire yard.

Another previous post: Honest Scrap lists ten more factoids about me.

* My den is Japanese style with a Japanese table and floor chair as my desk. I have tatami mats on the floor and Japanese lamps.

* My other desk downstairs is a Chinese lacquered piano desk in green. When I saw it I thought, only beautiful things could be written at this desk.

* My inner child cuts to the chase and knows her own mind. I love that.

* Growing up one of ten, I learned not to let not having money stand in the way of doing anything I want to do.

* I also do what I want and don’t require that I have someone to do it with me.

* I put myself through nursing school, college and my first Master’s. By my second master’s it was paid for by OUR money, (my husband and I). I love that.

* I have been debt free since the 80’s when I read Ron Hulnick’s Fiscal Fitness book. It was an earlier version of his Financial Freedom in 8 Minutes a Day: How to Attract and Manage All the Money You’ll Ever Need by Ron Hulnick and Mary Hulnick.

* I have written 50,000 words of a novel each November during NaNoWriMo for the last 4 years.

* Revising and editing these novels is another story.

* I placed in a Write Tight Contest.

* In high school a teacher published 2 of my works, in the high school paper. I never meant for them to be public.

* Approaching middle age I decided to stop spending my life in a book and start living it.

* When I was 7, I knew I wanted to live in California and marry a Jewish boy.

* When I was 7 and picked out a pink dress with a rose at the waist, my mother told me that my grandfather would like the purple plaid one better. I knew the purple one cost less.

* My father is an honorable man and I have tried to be as honest as he is.

* My father creates true abundance. I emulate that also.

* I love the early morning quiet.

* I love dark chocolate with nuts.

* I have observed that after 40, women are better off on the bottom, if the lights are on during sex because of face sag.

* When I lived in a friend’s house, I felt like I was wearing someone else’s clothes.

* My favorite color is green.

* I like subtle flavors like mushrooms, tofu and lobster.

* When I become a multimillionaire, I will have a maid and a cook and upgrade my house and location and wardrobe.

* The above statement is my subconscious telling me to schedule in a day to houseclean and a day to cook and continue upgrading my house and wardrobe.

* Lately, I love to knit and crochet while I watch TV or Netflix.

OMG only 56.

* When I dig down deep, what I want is peace.

* When my children were young, I knew that if painting myself blue and standing on my head would make them turn out well, I would have done it. This does not mean that I was able to overcome my failings.

* I remember reading that whatever we try to do perfectly is sure to fail. I thought, but surely we must try to be perfect at raising our children?

* Now I know aiming for excellence is where it’s at not perfection.

* My children turned out excellent, far better than I could have imagined.

* I cannot take credit. I think it was innate in them.

* Their childhoods did not go at all as I would have chosen, then neither did life.

* I have often thought, if I had the power to create the perfect child: my children and grandchildren far surpass anything I could have come up with. In fact all children do.

* I also know that if I chose my life for myself, it would be like a sterile pool that was beautifully shaped and landscaped. It would be lined with exquisite tiles and I would have extras to replace any that cracked. It would have a transparent cover to keep it clean and environmentally perfect.

* And real life is like jumping into the ocean with sharks and stinging jellyfish and salt and sand that irritate.

Night blooming cerius

* And real life is so interesting and beautiful and never boring.

* I love a good plot.

* Tomatoes warm in the sun are so yummy.

* How do people pick berries and end up with enough to make a pie?

*  I save my oldest ragged underwear for when I travel. After I wear it I discard it and open up a little more room in my luggage.

* I love sashimi and seaweed salad and miso soup.

* I love efficiency and productivity.

* I love to get rid of stuff.

* I love the beauty of negative space.

* I was attracted to my husband partly because he lives simply.

* I live fragrance free except when traveling because of my husband’s sensitivities.

* He is totally worth it.

* My husband teaches me how to do things the easy way.

* When I was about 17, I had an out of body experience, not near death, not drugs, just out of body. It happened talking with a school psychologist.

* I used to think when I was old I would sit and watch movies of my children all day.

* In one writer’s group all four of us confessed we had thought ending up in a wheelchair would be a benefit as a writer. DEFLECT

* I used to think I would embroider all day when I got old.

* I am happy with my body.

* I like my legs, hair and nails.

* I scored 154 on an IQ test, go figure.

* I can play stupid with the best of them.

* I used to wish I could do something wonderful for mankind.

* I think I am of the picking up litter ilk of greatness.

* I am extremely slow to make friends.

* Last year I saw high school friends and it was like I never left.

* Once a friend is in, they are there forever, even if I don’t keep contact. XD

* I’ve heard that your middle name is what you are becoming. My middle name is Frances which means free.

* I love to feel the wind in my hair.

* I went on the first University Of Santa Monica Prison project and workshop called Freedom To Choose. I was a volunteer assistant.

* I loved going to the University Of Santa Monica. I went in a basket case and came out in touch with the loving being I am.

* My husband has created a safe space where I can tell him anything. Believe me I have tested him.

* When I lie it is usually out of fear.

* When I was young my friend’s grandmother died after a long illness. The grandfather went out and got himself a convertible sports car, red and a sporty hat and drove around in it. Even I could see that was a very healthy thing to do.

* My cousin and I decided when we were young to become nuns and spend our lives atoning for others sins. It was all her idea. It would have never occurred to me. I could see the nobility in the gesture and I went along with it. We vowed. Later a priest released me from the vow and said don’t do that.

* When I was young I believed the nuns had to pin their veils into their scalp because their heads were shaved. I did not want to be a nun.

If you read all this way congratulations!

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “100th post

  1. blkdrama

    March 17, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    Great list and a great challenge. Am I up to it? HMMMM…
    Bonnie

     
    • purplume

      March 22, 2010 at 9:41 pm

      Go for it Bonnie. : )

       
  2. ~ifer

    March 18, 2010 at 3:38 am

    I don’t know that I could come up with 100 things that I haven’t already said about myself lol. I might try this when my one year blogging anniversary comes up this summer.
    Also… on a random side note, have you always had the little smiley at the bottom of your blog page? I just noticed it today, and not sure how long it’s been there.

     
    • purplume

      March 22, 2010 at 9:42 pm

      I’d like to read your 100 things or more.
      The smiley is a copyright symbol. I usually remember to put it. XD

       
  3. Cherylann

    March 18, 2010 at 4:31 am

    I applaud you! It sounds like you are living the authentic life I long for. I did a list of 100 things I’m thankful for once. It’s hard to come up with so many things.

     
    • purplume

      March 22, 2010 at 9:43 pm

      It is challenging. It took me much longer than I thought.

       
  4. chefyourself

    March 19, 2010 at 1:49 am

    LOL! I’m still laughing about the face sag, but I thought we were supposed to be on top, that way it all looks rounded and full (I’m talking about more than just face sag).

    Congrats on your 100th, feels pretty cool, huh?

    From reading your 100, I learned that even paradise has creepy crawlies that come at you.

     
    • purplume

      March 22, 2010 at 9:45 pm

      You could be right about the roundedness when you are closer to 40. By 60 your jowls are like two mini breasts.

      Yes creepy crawlies, not lethal, but painful. We don’t have any snakes or skunks however.

       
  5. Laura

    March 19, 2010 at 9:23 am

    I did read it all of the way and I adore you!

    You said this:
    ” I used to wish I could do something wonderful for mankind”

    I used to think that too, but you have kids and you made them wonderful and then they touch other people’s lives and you write this blog and you touch other people’s lives. So in a sense, you are doing something wonderful for mankind – not all at once, but person by person.

     
    • purplume

      March 22, 2010 at 9:46 pm

      Thank you Laura for all the reading.

      I think that is why blogging is so satisfying.

       

Leave a Reply

