RSS

Travel To Japan – Hiroshima

22 Mar

The first time I went to Japan, my tour group took a train to Hiroshima. We were having a good old time eating bento boxes and sharing mochi. (Rice sweets.)

Looking out the train window, I noticed suddenly all the majestic trees were gone and there were only younger trees.  It was as if the forest had been mowed by a giant mower.

What happened was we entered the area the atomic bomb had wiped out all trees. What we were seeing were trees that have grown since 1945.

*

Jake Keup

This domed building was the only building left standing.

*

Nizam Uddin

*

This art work shows victims still alive, (but soon to die), whose skin was oozing off them from the radiation.

The area has a peace park and many monuments.

*

Lightmatter

*

The  Children’s Monument above and the Cennotaph which is a shelter for all the souls and has the names of all the victims in it.

Alexsander Dagnes

*

The Japanese don’t teach their children to hate. The park has many glass cases that house chains of 1000 origami paper cranes.

Japanese believe if you make a chain of 1000 paper cranes, all the while holding the focus on a wish – the wish will come true. School children make these chains while holding the focus of peace.  The park receives so many they leave them in the cases for a while and then change them out for the next batch of cranes.

*

Strands of 1000 paper cranes

Liddybits

When I came home I made a chain of 1000 cranes and mailed it to the park. While I was making them, some people said they wanted to help me. They made some cranes. I thought I didn’t want to take any chances with my wish for peace so I made 1000 and sent them along with the extras made by others. My husband says they probably think I can’t count. Heh heh.

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
15 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2010 in Japan, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Travel To Japan – Hiroshima

  1. blkdrama

    March 22, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    What a wonderful idea and a gorgeous product. Did you get a response?
    Bonnie

     
    • purplum

      March 23, 2010 at 7:41 am

      No they don’t respond when you send them; they get so many. In that way it would be more fun to bring them, yourself.

       
  2. ~ifer

    March 23, 2010 at 4:19 am

    I remember hearing about that tradition when I was a kid. I used to make the cranes all the time, but never made anywhere near 1000 I am sure. And never for a wish, either.
    I think it is a beautiful tradition. And honestly, this is the thing about the Japanese spirit that I love the most. They don’t hold a grudge, they don’t teach hate, they teach peace, and forgiveness. I find such a sense of peace in the Japanese persona.

     
    • purplume

      March 23, 2010 at 7:43 am

      I love that about the Japanese too. I love learning about what is excellent in each culture.

       
  3. zahirah

    March 23, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Beautiful post, thanks so much for sharing!! I had forgotten the story of the 1,000 cranes.

    And I think it’s beautiful (and so healthy) that they don’t teach children to hate or hold a grudge for things from the past.

     
    • purplume

      March 29, 2010 at 2:57 pm

      Isn’t that true. The Japanese have a few excellent things going for them. 😄

       
  4. Marianne

    March 23, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    That picture of the cranes is GORGEOUS! Oh my gosh, the colors are brilliant! The painting, on the other hand, is heart breaking. I can’t even comprehend such a tragedy.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog… glad you liked me idea of being the pregnant mother! I thought people would be like, “girl, enjoy your youth,” surprisingly though, people didn’t make fun of me LOL! How old are your children and grandchildren? My mom cannot wait to be a grandma.. too bad she’s gonna have to haha…
    Bummer that the only way you can subscribe is via google reader… what a pain 😦

    Hope you’re having a good week… send some of the Hawaiian sunshine my way, would ya?

     
    • purplume

      March 29, 2010 at 2:59 pm

      OK, I’m sending sunshine.
      My grandchildren are from 21 down to 4, eight of them. ❤
      Soon it will be my turn for Word press for Dummies.

       
  5. phoenixphil

    March 23, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    I love this post. I think I like the Childrens Monument the most. The shelter to protect the souls is a very moving sight.

    I think teaching children not to hate is a wonderful gift but internationally a rare concept. That makes me sad.

    I think I am going to build a canapy to shelter my children and we can sit under it making cranes… and we can’t count too well either.

     
    • purplume

      March 29, 2010 at 3:00 pm

      Hee hee you make me lol. Yes I wish that concept was more common too.

       
  6. Laura

    March 24, 2010 at 10:09 am

    I am speechless. How sad and beautiful all at the same time.

     
  7. Thea Phipps

    March 24, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    VERY moving blog.

     
  8. Carol

    March 26, 2010 at 2:55 am

    A very moving post and a reminder to us all to embrace love and peace. xx

     
  9. purplume

    March 29, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Thanks Laura, Thea and Carol. Yes it is bittersweet beauty. ❤

     

Leave a Reply

