RSS

Success At Weight Loss, Finally

23 Mar

Mckaysavage
*

Have you always wanted an easy way to be slender?
*
I have.
*
On Spark People, when I read some people get back to normal weight when they start measuring portions, I knew that would be me.
*
It wasn’t.
*
Then they said some people who stop inhaling their food, get to normal weight.
*
Nope, didn’t do it.
*
Tracking calories does it for some.
*
No.
*
I really expected each of these steps to be it. I remember deciding very strongly to stay slender when I was young.
*
Nine days ago, I found what works for me.
*
The catch is, you have to have been infected with helicobacter pylori AND you need to have vague enough symptoms that you never sought treatment for it AND you have to have misinterpreted your stomach’s discomfort as hunger.
*
I also tried those hypnosis programs where you only eat when you are hungry. Hello. I always felt hungry.
*
Nine days ago, My husband started treatment for helicobacter pylori because of excessive bloating. The doctor suggested I take treatment also so we don’t reinfect each other. (Gross.)
*
Okay, fine, I was happy to do it. Almost immediately, I stopped feeling hungry soon after eating. I eat breakfast and start working and next thing I know it’s 11 AM or later.
*
I used to eat breakfast at 7 and look for something by 9 AM and 10 AM. If I went out, even for two hours, I took raw vegetables or nuts with me. If I got hungry and didn’t eat something, it would go into uncomfortable nausea. A little food relieved it. My acupuncturist told me in Eastern medicine, nausea that is relieved by food is a classic symptom of an ulcer. I don’t have an ulcer but I was likely on the way to one.
*
Elenadan
*
So without doing anything different, except the big difference of not wanting to eat all the time, my weight is down to 149.5 pounds. It was 155, nine days ago.
*
The doctor said we’ve had this for 15 or 20 years. Unchecked it is connected with ulcers.
*
Ten or more years ago I started a weight loss program to combat my weight gain that crept up slowly.
*
They recommended a 1200 cal diet. I could do it by will for about three days and then I would binge so they said to eat 1500 calories and lose more gradually.
*
I aimed for 1500 and often went to 1700 or 1800 or beyond.
*
I keep track of my calories and now I find it is very easy to eat 1400. Before this, at the end of the day I would be looking for something low calorie that I could “fill’ up on.
*
50% of those over 50 years of age have H. Pylori.
*
I told my doctor about my good fortune and he laughed and said he wished he lost weight on the treatment. The reality is, unless you have H. Pylori AND are misinterpreting discomfort as hunger, this won’t work for you. If this helps even one other person, I will be very happy. Heck I am ecstatic already.

*

IISimon53

*
I know, the proof is in the pudding. So far I love this past week’s pudding.

Addendum: One week later, my pudding crashed. This past week on 1500 calories a day, I have maintained my weight. No more lovely pounds dropping away. sigh. It was fun. Now I need to exercise more and eat less. XD
© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Success At Weight Loss, Finally

  1. blkdrama

    March 24, 2010 at 1:32 am

    Sounds great. I am working out more and trying to eat less. I have a program at my gym and I’m slowly moving down the scale. Let’s see what happened the last few days? My body fat is what gets measured.
    Bonnie

     
    • purplume

      March 29, 2010 at 2:48 pm

      Best luck with that Bonnie.

       
  2. ~ifer

    March 24, 2010 at 3:06 am

    I am glad you found this out and are treating it. I know the weight loss is a good thing, but the main thing is to get healthy and stay that way!

     
    • purplume

      March 29, 2010 at 2:49 pm

      Yes true. I am so glad we are doing this treatment.

       
  3. sheila

    March 24, 2010 at 3:55 am

    Congratulations! Right after my fourth child was born, I lost all of that baby weight – and most of the weight brought on by the other three. I was down to 115 pounds with a 4 week old. It was amazing. But when she was about 6 months old, weight started creeping back. I didn’t change anything about my lifestyle. Not one thing. But I slowly outgrew all my pants and most of my shirts. I put on 70 pounds in record time. I’ve been trying now for almost 7 years to take it off and can’t manage to lose more than 10 pounds without it coming back. My best luck has been through SparkPeople. I think I should go back.

     
    • purplume

      March 29, 2010 at 2:52 pm

      Spark people is so convenient for tracking.
      Maybe I’ll see you there. I am Purplume there. XD

       
  4. Kortney

    March 24, 2010 at 6:59 am

    That is great news. Everyone has to find what works for them and yours was curing and illness!! Go figure! I am very happy for you. Enjoy eating, guilt-free, when you’re hungry!

     
    • purplume

      March 29, 2010 at 2:52 pm

      Thanks Kortney. I will enjoy it. And I enjoy discovering it has been hours since I ate. yay.

       
  5. zahirah

    March 24, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Wow. Great news. Congrats! And thanks for sharing. I wonder how many other people have this problem and have no idea. Good to get the word out!

     
    • purplume

      March 29, 2010 at 2:53 pm

      Yes Zahirah, Some day we will probably all catch all kinds of health things before they even get started.

       
  6. Cherylann

    March 24, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Congrats…sometimes we don’t know we are sink until something forces us to look. I’m glad this works for you!

     
  7. purplume

    March 29, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Thanks Cherylann. me too.

     

Leave a Reply

