RSS

Feel Good Friday

26 Mar

The Girl Next Door Grows Up started this Feel Good Friday meme. See her blog for the Mclinky.

To join in, follow her steps below:

Step 1:
Pick one of these prompts and write about it on your blog!  You can:

  • Just make a list. List 5 things that made you really happy this week. No matter how bad or boring you think your week was, I bet you can find 5 things.
  • Write about something that happened to you this week that really made you smile.  Was it your child, husband, or maybe a complete stranger did to you?
  • Write about something that YOU did for someone else that really made them happy or laugh.
  • Is there something you treasure so much that every single time you look at it, it brings you happiness?  Post a pic and tell everyone about it.
  • Having a hard week and can’t find one good thing about it?  Well then, what is your happy place?  What do you think of that makes you happy? A past vacation?  A childhood memory?  We want to know!

Step 2:
Go back to The Girl Next Door Blog and link up with Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets.  Then go and read at least one other blog and leave them a comment to make their day brighter.

Step 3:
Have fun.  Feel good.  Smile.

*

This week I decided to confront person A. I was willing to do it and I realized I was judging them, that I thought they should be different.

Then, I had an opportunity to do a telephone conference workshop on Momentum – Letting Love Lead.

By the time I finished the workshop I realized what was really bothering me was that I didn’t want to risk being authentic. I didn’t want to tell people B what I was really thinking and feeling about person A, because it was that I didn’t want to help person A. I didn’t want to get involved in the games they play and I was judging myself as bad or wrong for not wanting to help.

After I realized all this, I felt so much better and free. Hey I get to chose what I do. I’m learning that when I risk being real the relationship is either going deeper or coming apart. Either way it’s a good thing.

Want to happy dance with me?

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Feel Good Friday

  1. Holly

    March 26, 2010 at 9:01 am

    Let’s happy dance! Congratulations! Sometimes the hardest part is getting to the bottom of things.

     
    • purplume

      March 29, 2010 at 2:33 pm

      Yes, I find that it true. thank you.

       
  2. Mardel S

    March 26, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    It’s tough being in your position. Especially when you’re feeling guilty about not helping someone. Sometimes you have to think of yourself first though, particularly if you’re dealing with someone who is a game player.

    Good for you, for thinking twice, and working it out.

    I’m doing a chair happy dance for you!

     
    • purplume

      March 29, 2010 at 2:39 pm

      Thank you Mardel. Guilt of course, I didn’t realize that was part of it.
      😄

       
  3. Elizabeth @ Confessions From A Working Mom

    March 27, 2010 at 6:24 am

    It sounds like things worked out for the best without confrontation– hooray! I know I like to burden myself with guilt over situations that aren’t my fault, kind of like how you were doing to yourself here. I’m off to read up on that Letting Love Lead link you posted for us– sounds like a great idea!

    ~Elizabeth

     
    • purplume

      March 29, 2010 at 2:46 pm

      Thanks Elizabeth, It does seem like if I give myself time to gain awareness, I function on a higher level. Yay. 😄

       
  4. Laura

    March 27, 2010 at 10:12 am

    I love doing happy dances!

    Good for you to be yourself and be real. I learned that a long time ago and, man, does it make life better.

     
  5. Laura

    March 29, 2010 at 8:38 am

    I wanted to add to my comment! I used to get panic attacks really really bad if I wasn’t “true” to myself. I have learned to stay true and now I don’t feel like I am going to drop dead!

     
    • purplume

      March 29, 2010 at 2:48 pm

      oh Laura, that is very interesting. I often wake in the middle of the night fearful about things. I am going to look at if there is a way I can be more true to myself re: whatever is up. Thank you.

       

Leave a Reply

