RSS

Travel Hawaii – Waikoloa Beach

31 Mar

My favorite doctor, recommended that I walk or jog in sand to strengthen my feet and knees.

*

How perfect! I won’t drive 45 minutes to a gym but I’m delighted to drive 15 minutes to the beach at Anaehoomalu Bay, or A Bay. This is my daughter’s favorite beach. XD

I love it in the morning when the sun hasn’t fully come over the mountains yet and it is shady and cool.

8:30 AM

The outrigger canoe club is here.

I’m using the Couch to 5K, just starting it slowly. I did it a year ago before my knee went out. It is a thrill to slow jog in the sand by the turquoise water.

There are tide pools in the lava rock.

And sandy trails.

If you go south, there are always giant sea turtles, basking in the sun.

Am I blessed or what?

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
21 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “Travel Hawaii – Waikoloa Beach

  1. Kris

    March 31, 2010 at 3:02 am

    Wow, that might even inspire me to get moving. What a gorgeous place to run. I’m not a runner, or a jogger, for that matter not even much of a walker, but I would love to be able to see that everyday.

     
    • purplume

      April 3, 2010 at 9:28 pm

      Yes and add some upbeat music and exercise is heavenly.

       
  2. ~ifer

    March 31, 2010 at 3:54 am

    You are SO. LUCKY. I think that environment would inspire me to get out and do something too. Although, it might just inspire me to figure out a way to sit outside when I play on my computer lol.

     
    • purplume

      April 3, 2010 at 9:29 pm

      You know that’s a great idea. After exercise I can sit with my computer for a while and then there is a Starbucks close by.

       
  3. Marianne

    March 31, 2010 at 8:20 am

    You know Hawaii was named the happiest state a few weeks ago?

    Gee, I wonder why?

    And it is also one of the heart-healthiest states in the nation.

    So, really, I just need to move there for my health 😉

    My parents are trying to go out there in October for their 30th anniversary… they’ve already been warned that I will be a stowaway haha.

    So jealous of you, but you already knew that!

     
    • purplume

      April 3, 2010 at 9:33 pm

      I get that Hawaii is happiest and so beautiful but I thought it had higher than average obesity, diabetes and high blood pressure. Plate lunches are three carbs and grease.
      Hope you get here.
      My single neighbor has a woman living in the house. Am I the nosy neighbor or what? Their back door is right under my den window, and they probably don’t know that I am sitting here on line a lot. They do not sound romantically involved. I think she is a roommate.

       
  4. Laura

    March 31, 2010 at 8:21 am

    You ARE so blessed! How beautiful!

    My husband lived in Kuai for 10 years… someday we hope to visit.

     
    • purplume

      April 3, 2010 at 9:33 pm

      Yes, I hope you get to visit there, but watch out, people sell their return tickets and stay.

       
  5. Cherylann

    March 31, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    I am so jealous! It looks like a lovely place and I’m stuck in this big concrete and glass city. Really TO isn’t that bad but I do miss the woods of home.

     
    • purplume

      April 3, 2010 at 9:35 pm

      I lived in Encino, near LA for a few years and I was so unmotivated to jog. It was all cement and buildings in your face. There wasn’t any distance view. My favorite memories of places are the jogging spots.

       
  6. Victoria

    March 31, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    I’d love to see the turtles!

     
  7. blkdrama

    April 1, 2010 at 2:10 am

    You are blessed that’s for sure and thanks for taking us along on your walk. I am leaving for Israel next Sunday and I promise to return the walk…along the Sea in Tel Aviv.
    bonnie

     
  8. MommyPhD

    April 1, 2010 at 6:09 am

    Yes, you’re blessed — but I also think places like this deserve patrons like you, who appreciate them! I’m not even jealous (much), for some reason, just happy you took us along today. Happy jogging.

     
  9. Miranda

    April 1, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    What a gorgeous view!

    We went to Hawaii when I was young, and I still savor that feeling of the sand between my toes and looking out onto the ocean.

     
    • purplume

      April 3, 2010 at 9:41 pm

      Ah yes sand between the toes, natural pumice.

       
  10. Thea Phipps

    April 1, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    The last photograph is my favorite. I love it!

     
    • purplume

      April 3, 2010 at 9:42 pm

      I love the turtles too.

       
  11. Holly

    April 10, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    Keep an eye on your knees as you run. I’ve always heard that running on sand was hard on your knees, so try to keep alert as to how you feel while running. Enjoy!! Beautiful place.

     
    • purplume

      April 14, 2010 at 7:34 am

      Thanks Holly. I have become obsessedly focused on my knees. So far so good. I’m up to 15 minutes of jogging a day and my knees are in place and happy. I’m proceeding slowly. It’s been 9 weeks since I started with just walking. Many thanks.

       

Leave a Reply

