RSS

Feel Good Friday

02 Apr



The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday thing. Here’s how to do it –

Step 1:
Pick one of these prompts and write about it on your blog! You can:

  • Just make a list. List 5 things that made you really happy this week. No matter how bad or boring you think your week was, I bet you can find 5 things.
  • Write about something that happened to you this week that really made you smile. Was it your child, husband, or maybe a complete stranger did to you?
  • Write about something that YOU did for someone else that really made them happy or laugh.
  • Is there something you treasure so much that every single time you look at it, it brings you happiness? Post a pic and tell everyone about it.
  • Having a hard week and can’t find one good thing about it? Well then, what is your happy place? What do you think of that makes you happy? A past vacation? A childhood memory? We want to know!

Step 2:
Go back to Girl Next Door’s Blog and link up with Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets. Then go and read at least one other blog and leave them a comment to make their day brighter.

Step 3:
Have fun. Feel good. Smile.

For my birthday last month, my daughter gave me this book. It’s a humorous mystery by Thea Phipps called Charades With A Lunatic.

It made me lol. Do not bring this book with you to read in a quiet place. I brought it to my doctor’s office and I kept laughing out loud. There is nothing wrong with that, but people started looking at me funny.

Once again I had pages of notes and I was determined to guess the mystery. I didn’t, even though the author, Thea Phipps plays fair with her readers. I think I fell for every red herring.

The author’s humor is at it’s best for me when she is describing people’s actions in a scene and the visual is a crack up.

I also appreciate her descriptions. On page 148 she writes”…as out of place…as a frosted bonbon in a cat’s litter box.” and ” …false eyelashes ringed her eyes like squatting tarantulas.”

The ending was more than completely satisfying. And Thea has a sequel out already, The Doll In The Wall.

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2010 in Book Review, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Feel Good Friday

  1. Thea Phipps

    April 2, 2010 at 12:28 am

    I love it! Thank you JB! 😀 Wonderful review for which I am very grateful… You made my Feel Good Friday!
    Writing ‘Charades’ was alot of fun to do, and I am so glad you enjoyed reading it.

     
    • purplume

      April 3, 2010 at 9:22 pm

      You are very clever. I never expected that ending.

       
  2. Kim

    April 2, 2010 at 12:49 am

    Sounds like a great recommendation. There’s nothing that I love more than a book that can make me laugh out loud (especially in public when you’re really trying to hold it in). I’m looking for a new book too, so thanks!

     
    • purplume

      April 3, 2010 at 9:22 pm

      You welcome. Don’t get locked up or anything for too much laughing. hee hee

       
  3. blkdrama

    April 2, 2010 at 2:13 am

    I agree. Great recommendation. Like The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, I needed a strong recommendation to jump in.
    Thanks,
    Bonnie

     
    • purplume

      April 3, 2010 at 9:23 pm

      So I guess you recommend The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo? I haven’t heard of it.

       
  4. DEUSARINO DE MELO

    April 2, 2010 at 11:02 am

    In order to tell the truth, I understand nothing about the truly way of yhis page, but remained one strong sensation of happyness. I think this is important, not only to me, but for all, because all us may be happy. Is one condition, one feel, I don’t know explain, but I feel. Write about this theme for me. Yhank you very much. I’m having, now, one good friday.

     
  5. Melanie

    April 2, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    Happy FGF!

    Thanks for stopping by! Have a great Easter Weekend. 🙂

     
  6. Jennifer

    April 2, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Hey thanks for stopping by my blog. At least you had a book to blame your laughter on. Have u ever heard that quote Im the type of girl to laugh out loud over a joke I heard the day before. Yup thats me and I do it quite frequently. Either over a joke or over something I have goin on in my head. Sounds like a fun book

     
  7. denise

    April 3, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    thanks for the tip…i could use some laughing out loud so i’ll have to check this book out…if i can get back into the swing of blogging and following blogs (i’ve missed yours!) i would love to try the feel good friday thing one of these fridays…

     
    • purplume

      April 7, 2010 at 1:06 pm

      Welcome back. I especially love your Easter blog.

       
  8. Laura

    April 5, 2010 at 8:54 am

    That is awesome. I love mysteries and to laugh! Thea did FGF, but i couldn’t contact her OR leave her a comment on her blog. It said only wordpress users could.

    That was a bummer.

    I read today that another blogger got a mystery published. It is about a blogger who gets stalked. Sounded good.

     
    • purplume

      April 7, 2010 at 1:23 pm

      Laura, Thea said her blog will be changed soon. I haven’t been able to leave comments either and I have ‘WP.
      That blogger mystery does sound good.

       

Leave a Reply

