RSS

Journey From Muffin Top To Skinny Jeans

07 Apr

Short Mama at Family Of Shorts started this meme and I want in. I want the results.

Alright so did you do your assignment? Because I have my ruler ready to slap your booties hands if you didnt.

“Last week when I brought up this weekly weight loss dealio I demanded challenged you to pick 3 small things that you could change that would start your weight loss. Emphasis on the small things. We all know that ultimately the weigh to lose weight and keep it off it is a complete lifestyle change that is necessary. Especially for those of use that have a lot of weight to lose. Unfortunately there is no magic answer, it takes lots of hard work on a daily basis. But small steps can make a difference. You would be surprised at what effect a small change can have.”

What would my three things be? hmm..

*
Move & stretch while at the computer and in front of the TV

*
Get in 3 days of walk/jogging at the beach and 3 days of water aerobics each week.

*
Laugh each day.

*

I think I better write these on a post it and put it at my computer.
*

Thank you Short Mama.  I am envisioning us all slender and fit. 😄

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

14 responses to “Journey From Muffin Top To Skinny Jeans

  1. Connie

    April 7, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    What a great idea to write those on a post it and put it on your computer!

    Have a great week!

     
  2. Sara

    April 7, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    I like your changes and know that you will do good!
    I love your laughing one, that is so important

     
    • purplume

      April 9, 2010 at 2:53 pm

      Thanks Connie and Sara,
      I notice already I went and did my exercise because I said I would in this meme. Yay, it’s working.

       
  3. shortmama

    April 7, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    I am so jealous that you can walk on the beach!!! Thanks for joining in!

     
  4. blkdrama

    April 8, 2010 at 12:34 am

    Nice job,
    I think I will join you for a beach walk. Mine will come for Monday. Although we will be walking past great humus and pita. I wonder if I can just keep to the salad.
    Hmmm.
    Bonnie

     
  5. Jenny

    April 8, 2010 at 3:14 am

    I am jealous you live in Hawaii and can walk on the beach everyday 🙂 I like you idea of putting our changes at the bottom of our post everyday to make us remember.

     
  6. Kim

    April 8, 2010 at 3:35 am

    Does jogging feel any better when you do it at the beach? I imagine it does, but maybe it is still torturous. Good luck with everything!

     
    • purplume

      April 9, 2010 at 2:57 pm

      I think jogging in sand takes more effort than on a flat less yielding surface. When I see my footprints the toes have really dug in.
      So if you are going for speed or distance, jogging in sand might be frustrating. For strengthening, I think it is even better.
      Jenny, I meant put my changes on a post it, but I like your take on it and Cara’s one in the next response to have reminders come up on the screen

       
  7. Cara

    April 8, 2010 at 4:02 am

    I love the post it note idea. I should have them all over the place. Maybe I will just set 30 minute reminders on my computer and have them pop up at me.

     
  8. Melanie

    April 8, 2010 at 4:36 am

    Those are 3 great changes! Stick with it!

    I love walking on the beach! It’s a great workout but unfortunately, I don’t live near the beach. So I walk around the neighborhood. 😦

     
  9. Laura

    April 8, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Since my baby is now a toddler the weight is not falling off and staying off like it used to with me always running after her. So i have been walking more and doing sit-ups/crunches 3 x daily since my back hurts if I do too many at a time.

    I got a muffin top this year on my hips and it is driving me batty. I tell it to go away, but it laughs at me!

    Good luck with your goals!!!

     
  10. Cherylann

    April 8, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Excellent idea. I’ll have to think on it!

     
  11. Robin

    April 8, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    Now if only they could make a contraption that made reading blogs and exercising go together well… I imagine the iPad will try but I just can’t see it.

     
    • purplume

      April 9, 2010 at 3:00 pm

      Yes Robin. I have seen a contraption with wheels that you put on the floor under your desk and you work while you sit. A review I read said the one I saw didn’t work well but I like the idea.
      A guy I know used his laptop while he was walking on a treadmill. He set it up with a shelf. He had good results.

       

Leave a Reply

