RSS

Wednesday Wisdom – How To Have Fun With A Headache

07 Apr

Wednesday Wisdom

I’ve been wanting to come up with a meme. Here is my idea. It’s called Wednesday Wisdom.

Part A
Write a post on your blog about something you have learned in your life that you are willing to share. It can be as simple as how to shuck peas faster or as deep as how to find the meaning in your life. Tell us in as much or as little detail.

Part B

Ask others to share awarenesses  they have on a challenge that you are facing. Go ahead ask for help, the blogoshere is here at your command.

Part C

Post your blog and then come back here  and leave  a comment with your blog url so we know to visit you.

Part D


Have fun. Laugh.

*

And now – How To Have Fun With A Headache.

I’ve had headaches since puberty. It was many years till I realized the hormone connection.

The duration of the headaches mimicked my period, that is from 4 to 8 days. At their worst I would vomit for about 18 hours if I ate or drank anything.

My sister told me that some American Indian tribes have females with  their period, spend that time in reflection and journaling and creative pursuits because that is when they are more highly attuned to their highest nature. She told me that some women arrange their work schedules to take advantage of this time. I felt envious of this until I discovered that my body was getting me to take time off work.

It all got better when I decided to have fun with the headaches.

1. One day when I was vomiting and feeling hungry I thought “Well if I am going to vomit it anyway, I may as well eat ice cream.” Surprise, I didn’t usually vomit ice cream.

2. I put a lot of pressure on myself to accomplish. I think it came from not feeling like I am enough and I had to do more to try to be even. When I would get a severe headache, I couldn’t go to work,or use my eyes, so no computer, reading or TV.  I discovered that all kinds of things I put pressure on myself to do fell away and didn’t get done. Surprise – the earth didn’t end. So now if I get a headache, I say what would be fun to do and I do it. I do spend a lot of time meditating. It is a satisfying challenge to go past the pain in meditation.

3. I ask my husband to run light energy through my body. He has always been willing to do it and most times I fall asleep after. I take as many naps as I can. It comforts me and passes the time until I feel better.

4. I take a bath. It usually helps for a while. I have taken as many as 4 baths in one  day.

5. I do creative things that are fun, no pressure. I find to do right brained things makes it worse so I never get into math or right brained activities on those days. In fact anything that makes it feel worse, I avoid.

I knew I did not want to medicate  to relieve the symptoms. I believe my body was trying to tell me something and I wanted to get at the underlying cause. Over the years my life has changed to greater relaxation and less pressure.

Please share anything that has worked for you in dealing with headaches.

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Wednesday Wisdom – How To Have Fun With A Headache

  1. theaphipps

    April 7, 2010 at 12:47 am

    I’ve discovered that my creative output is at its peak right before that time, but during it all, my creative intake is at its peak. It does a complete turnaround the day before I begin.
    I won’t be able to post a blog today since my website (www.TheaPhipps.com) is undergoing a major revamping this week, so I chose a bit of Wednesday Wisdom that is simple and tiny enough to post on a comment – a sort of Wisdom Lite – like Lite beer – only half the brain calories 🙂 : How to peel a banana… Most people try to pull the peel away begining at the stem end. It is much simpler to do like a monkey and just pinch the blossom end. The peeling virtually falls off…no more bruised banana. 😀

     
    • purplume

      April 7, 2010 at 1:39 pm

      Thanks Thea. I’m looking forward to free access to your blog.
      I tried that way of peeling a banana before and felt all clumsy. I will try it again because of you.

       
  2. Laura

    April 7, 2010 at 10:15 am

    I drink a TON of water if I get a headache and then it is gone. I mean like a TON in one sitting and then I pee and drink another TON.

    I can’t believe you didn’t throw up the ice cream! That is just wrong! It should be a free meal so to speak!!!

    Weigh loss is totally the only positive aspect of vomiting. Although, I would still rather have a pound or two and not be sick.

     
  3. purplume

    April 7, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    OOh thanks Laura, I will try that if I ever have a headache again. Maybe I won’t, it could happen.
    I do usually always drink at least 6 glasses of liquid a day, because I have seen some connection with dehydration.
    I almost (but NOT) want a headache to try it.

     
  4. ~ifer

    April 8, 2010 at 3:35 am

    I like this challenge, and I will be taking part next week 🙂
    As for what I do when I get headaches (since I am a chronic migraine sufferer), one of the ways I relieve the pain almost immediately is through relaxation. I lie down on the bed, close my eyes, and consciously relax every muscle in my head and neck. I find that a lot of times my headaches start small, and because I tense against the pain, I instead amplify it. If I can catch the headache when it starts, and relax each and every muscle until I am laying there in a state of liquid goo, it helps…

    oh, that and Aleve 😀

     
    • purplume

      April 9, 2010 at 2:49 pm

      Thanks Jennifer,
      IF I ever get another headache I will try your relaxation technique also. Thank you.

       
  5. Kortney

    April 8, 2010 at 5:49 am

    I LOVE this blog. My mom and sister always had migraines, but I was lucky to never get more than a mild headache from time to time. I don’t like to take pills so I usually instead use it as my excuse to take a scalding hot shower and drink tons of coffee. I love coffee anyway and the caffiene usually helps with the headache. Finally lying down with a wet washcloth on my head works wonders. Its probably all mental because it reminds me of being a little kid and that was my mom’s go to cure all.

     
  6. purplume

    April 9, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    OOh a wet washcloth sounds comforting. So did the hot shower and coffee.

     
  7. blkdrama

    April 15, 2010 at 9:58 am

    So far, so lucky. One Tylenol and a large glass of water and about 20 minutes and I’m good to go, but I do have issues with other things like never-ending menopause. There’s no free lunch.
    Bonnie

     

Leave a Reply

