RSS

Wednesday Wisdom & From Muffin Top to Skinny Jeans

14 Apr

Wednesday Wisdom

I’ve been wanting to come up with a meme. Here is my idea. It’s called Wednesday Wisdom.

Part A
Write a post on your blog about something you have learned in your life that you are willing to share. It can be as simple as how to shuck peas faster or as deep as how to find the meaning in your life. Tell us in as much or as little detail.

Part B

Ask others to share awarenesses they have on a challenge that you are facing. Go ahead ask for help, the blogoshere is here at your command.

Part C

Post your blog and then come back here and leave a comment with your blog url so we know to visit you.

Part D


Have fun. Laugh.

*

For more, see Marianne at The Fickle White Woman and her post on Wednesdays Words Of Wisdom.

BEING NEUTRAL ABOUT WORDS.

*

My husband and I have had the experience of desensitizing ourselves to words. That is, we don’t give energy to words.

*

There is a technique called exhaust the response. This is how I got to be neutral about words and no longer give them power to upset me.

*

I had the experience in a group where the others would say over and over to me words that I found upsetting. You can do this for yourself in the mirror. The important thing is to know that you are doing this to help yourself NOT to upset yourself. What I would do is say a little prayer first asking for protection and loving from my higher power before I started and ask that only what is for my highest good come forward. I do this as insurance and to remind me that I’m helping myself.

*

Take a word that upsets you and say it over and over to yourself. Don’t be surprised if emotion comes up. It surprised me very much that the word that had the most power over me was ‘crybaby.” As I heard it over and over, I remembered my brothers taunting me by saying that. I cried and then it came to a head and passed and I laughed and it no longer bothers me.

*

As you do this process other words may come to mind. Go with the ones with the most ‘charge’ on them first.

*

After this my teenage nephew tested me by saying the F word. I stayed neutral. Then he had to try it in front of his friends. He went on to learn that even if your aunt is neutral about it, the rest of the world is not necessarily so.

*

What I like best is being neutral about words allows me to listen more to where the person is coming from and what they are trying to communicate, instead of getting upset by what they are saying.

*
This blog is for sharing and upliftment purposes only. The approaches and methods in this blog are not intended to diagnose, treat or cure any disease or form of illness. This blog is not designed nor intended to replace any form of therapy or medical care.
*
*
*

Short Mama at Family Of Shorts started this meme and I want in. I want the results.

Alright so did you do your assignment? Because I have my ruler ready to slap your booties hands if you didnt.

“Last week when I brought up this weekly weight loss dealio I demanded challenged you to pick 3 small things that you could change that would start your weight loss. Emphasis on the small things. We all know that ultimately the weigh to lose weight and keep it off it is a complete lifestyle change that is necessary. Especially for those of use that have a lot of weight to lose. Unfortunately there is no magic answer, it takes lots of hard work on a daily basis. But small steps can make a difference. You would be surprised at what effect a small change can have.”

*

I did my three changes for last week and TWICE I would have skipped exercising, but I didn’t want to have to cop to missing it here in this meme.

*

So already I see this has value for me.

*

I wrote this post last night before I read your post so I am adding in:

My weight this morning was 149.5#. My waist is at 32″. My goal is for my waist to be 30″ or less, whatever weight that correlates to. My doctor told me my excess waistline is a result of excess carbs. So if I cut out the empty calorie ones, that would be helpful.

My three things for this week are:

Eat something instead of Japanese tea sweets this week.

Have at least 40 oz. of cold unsweetened tea on hand.

Do strength exercises twice this week.

Okay, best luck to each of us.

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Wednesday Wisdom & From Muffin Top to Skinny Jeans

  1. Cara

    April 14, 2010 at 9:02 am

    That is a beautiful landscape! Good luck on your new goals for this week!

     
  2. Marianne

    April 14, 2010 at 9:53 am

    You really sound like someone I would love to have around in my daily life. All of your posts are so uplifting and nonjudgmental and I just love those kinds of positive vibes…

    I did a “Wednesday’s Words of Wisdom” post way back in January and said I was going to do it weekly… I haven’t done it since hahahaha. whoops 😉

     
  3. Mardel

    April 14, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    I don’t feel like I have any words of wisdom, but I’m enjoying yours! Thanks

     
  4. Jenny

    April 15, 2010 at 3:03 am

    I loved your Wednesday Wisdom, it is so true that we let words control us way to much. I will have to try to desensitize myself from some words too.

    I guess maybe I need to give-up on some empty carbs, maybe that is my problem with my waist area???

     
  5. Laura

    April 15, 2010 at 8:06 am

    I love the Wednesday Wisdom and I love your disclaimer at the bottom too! That is cute!

    My mom always taught me that it is not the words you say, but how you use them.

     
  6. shortmama

    April 15, 2010 at 11:34 am

    For some reason I have trouble with your link that you gave on the muffin top link up…just wanted to let ya know.

    Your waist is smaller than my bust…..Im jealous!

     
  7. Angie

    April 16, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Hi JB. I love your words of wisdom today especially since I have a need to put the desensitizing technique into practice. I tend to be a little hot tempered and words can set me off. Actions too. 😉

     
  8. Kortney

    April 16, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Your brain is beautiful.

    I feel that I have done your neutralzing process but inadvertently and over years. I like your direct approach. It has faster results. My word was “naked.” I am not even sure why, but I felt vulnerable, exposed and fearful at just the sound of it. Now I hear it as freedom and spirit.

     
  9. purplume

    April 20, 2010 at 9:06 am

    Thank you all. I love hearing from you and your thoughts. It’s a sensitizing to the positive you do.

     

Leave a Reply

