RSS

Wednesday Wisdom And From Muffin Top To Skinny Jeans

21 Apr

Wednesday Wisdom

I’ve been wanting to come up with a meme. Here is my idea. It’s called Wednesday Wisdom.

Part A
Write a post on your blog about something you have learned in your life that you are willing to share. It can be as simple as how to shuck peas faster or as deep as how to find the meaning in your life. Tell us in as much or as little detail.

Part B

Ask others to share awarenesses they have on a challenge that you are facing. Go ahead ask for help, the blogosphere is here at your command.

Part C

Post your blog and then come back here and leave a comment with your blog url so we know to visit you.

Part D


Have fun. Laugh.

FREEING UP MY ENERGY

Completing things is one of my favorite expansive behaviors to do when I am feeling constricted.

*

I find if I make a list of everything I need to do and start completing as many as I can, I start getting more and more energetic. For some things I write  the date I will do it, and then I can let go of that nagging anxiety.  Having a time when I will deal with each thing, gives me freedom to let go of thinking about it.   Before doing this process, my mind seems to think it has to bug me as if I have to do everything RIGHT NOW.

*

In David Allen’s book GETTING THINGS DONE,  he goes into the process in greater detail and efficiency.  He says in his book “Many executives I have worked with during the day to clear the decks of their mundane “stuff” have spent the following evening, having a stream of ideas and visions about their company and their future. This happens as an automatic consequence of unsticking their workflow.”  (Allen 2001, p. 20.)

*

My experience of ‘unsticking my workflow’, is that, it let’s me quiet my mind so I can more easily find little things come into my mind, little important things like call a sick friend.  Without doing the process, those little important things get lost in all the urgency.

*

Even more, I find as I direct myself into positive behaviors, there is less energy or opportunity to fall back into habitual negative patterns.  If, I think of the day as 100 units of energy available to me, and direct 15 of them into positive behaviors, then my day falls into heightened positiveity.   If I spend my day thinking about doing something beneficial like exercising, but not doing it, then I have a day of greater negativity.  For me the question is, what things do I direct myself into that will have the greatest positive impact for the effort?

*

*

*

Short Mama at Family Of Shorts started this meme and I want in. I want the results.

So questions to answer this week:

How do you handle a gain or the feeling of knowing your didn’t do as well as you had hoped?

*

I have learned not to beat myself up and to look for what works.

*

What kind of effect does this have on you?

*

It is much better than getting discouraged and eating about it, or giving up.

*

Is there something constructive you can do to reward yourself for small steps?
*

I think I will go through my closet and get rid of any clothes I can let go of. That way there is room for new ones.

*

And how are you doing this week?
*

I went to bed at 6 PM lat night. I don’t know why I am so tired. Maybe after exercise I will take my laptop and work from bed.

*

What were your challenges?

*

I ran into a piece of cheesecake.  I ate it in two parts and figured it in my daily calories. Ya know It wasn’t that great tasting. I did eat it anyway and enjoyed it. I must remember tomorrow, when I bring the rest of it to a sewing group, that I already had my piece and to leave what is left over with them. Yes, I took a piece out of it.  XD  It is all frozen and pre-cut.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Wednesday Wisdom And From Muffin Top To Skinny Jeans

  1. Sara

    April 21, 2010 at 7:22 am

    I love your positive energey and your idea to clean out your closet. I should get rid of all the big items in mycloset!
    Have a great week
    Sara

     
  2. shortmama

    April 21, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Making room in your closet for new clothes is a great idea! I think in the next couple of weeks Im going to shift my clothes around. I have clothes in the next size down from where I am now on one side from when I had lost weight a few years ago. And on the other half is my clothes now. I figure if I put the clothes I want to be in on the most accessible side maybe I will get in them faster!

     
  3. purplume

    April 21, 2010 at 8:37 am

    Good thinking you two. I didn’t find much to get rid of in my closet. There is a skirt I love that will fit once I don’t have the muffin top. Maybe I should empty out my sewing closet.
    XD

     
  4. Holly

    April 21, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Great post! I’m a HUGE fan of Getting Things Done. That was a life changing book for me.

     
  5. Angie

    April 22, 2010 at 3:51 am

    I’m a list-maker by nature. Making lists helps me order my thoughts and gives me a sense of control. I just need to work on actually getting more things on my lists done! ! Thanks for sharing your experience with the book Getting Things Done. I’m going to have to check this one out. It sounds like a read I could benefit from.

     
  6. Sara

    April 22, 2010 at 8:37 am

    Congrats on jogging for the couch to 5k! Yeah and you are so right, we can do this!!!

    What week are you in on the Couch to 5K? I am on week three and today is my last day of week 3 and than I move on week 4. I hear week 4 is scary!

    Have a great week and thanks for commenting on my blog!

     
    • purplume

      April 24, 2010 at 9:22 pm

      Hi Sara, I don’t remember week 4. Some of the weeks were a good challenge AND doable. I did it a year and a half ago. Then My knee went out. This time I was doing like couch to 5K. I picked a route at the beach that took me 30 minutes to walk. I didn’t bring a watch so I just ran a little more of it each time and after 9 weeks or so. voila’ I can jog the whole thing.
      I love couch to 5K and how they make it work for us. Without it, it’s easy to overdo it and then get discouraged.
      XD

       
  7. Jenny

    April 22, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    I like the idea of making room in the closet for new clothes. I went thru mine a couple weeks ago and finally thru out a bunch of clothes and it felt great.

     

Leave a Reply

