RSS

WEDNESDAY WISDOM and FROM MUFFIN TOP TO SKINNY JEANS

28 Apr
Wednesday Wisdom

I’ve been wanting to come up with a meme. Here is my idea. It’s called Wednesday Wisdom.

*

KISS Keep It Simple Sweetie.

*

I’ve loved this idea since I first heard it. I was attracted to my husband partly because he knows how to keep things simple.

*

Here are my best thoughts on the subject.

*

Have you heard the story about the man living on the beach with a small boat.? An industrious type walks up to him and says, “You could advertise and take people out fishing. You could gradually buy more boats and become quite wealthy at it.”

*

Then man on the beach said and then what?

*

The Industrious one  said, then you could eventually retire and live comfortably on the beach.

*

The man said but I have that now.

*

Sometimes I think oh, I could do this or that to earn money. I like it better when I think what else can I get rid of and not have to take care of? I have a goal to leave my things in order and at a minimum when I die.

*

What do I have an abundance of that I can share? The produce from my garden, the rocks that my land is covered with, my writing, my loving and caring.

*

Have I showed gratitude and given back to the ‘source” today? I like to tithe to the source of my teachings. I often think on an ideal day I would meditate for 1/10th of the day. (1 hour and 24 minutes.)  Once my family was coming to visit and I looked around and saw that everything was in order. Usually when guests come I rush around and go through a lot of stress.  This time because I had been doing a lot of spiritual exercises, I was good to go.

*

I’d love to hear what you have found works in keeping things simple? 😄

*

Short Mama at Family Of Shorts started this meme and I want in. I want the results.

*

How did you do on our first month of the journey?

*

The first week I chose to walk/jog three times a week and do water aerobics three times a week. It was so helpful that I committed to that because then when I wanted to cop out I didn’t.  My weight has stayed the same.  My waist is down 1/2 inch. I think for me my diet and calories in are okay, can keep tweaking them a little but increasing exercise is where it’s at. I have gotten so I can jog straight for 30 minutes now.

Were you able to stay on track with the 3 simple changes you chose in our first challenge?

*

No, I’ve changed around and lost focus.  The second week I wrote my post early and assumed we would pick three different things so I did. Then my committment got ‘fuzzy.’  My new committment is to do the same exercising including walking to water aerobics, but when listening to my body I can take off one extra day a week if I need to.

My second thing is to leave off the Japanese tea sweets.

My third thing is to do strength training a minimum of once a week, ideally twice.

*

Are there adjustments that you can see you need to make in order to continue to be successful at winning this battle of losing weight?

*

I need to be very careful about the junk food carbs. I need to go easy on the increasing exercise and listen to my body, to be extra careful about avoiding injury. I need to continue to be sure I have cold unsweetened tea available.

Thank you ShortMama for this meme. I am optimistic.

*

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “WEDNESDAY WISDOM and FROM MUFFIN TOP TO SKINNY JEANS

  1. Symply Me

    April 28, 2010 at 8:08 am

    I think I need to give water aerobics a try. I mean, I can’t swim, but one of the reason’s I hate working out is because of the stink when I work up a sweat. If I’m exercising in water, then theoretically, that problem would take care of itself, right? I love this Meme, because we find out that we are all struggling with similar issues, and can be there for each other. I’ll be your cheerleader!

     
  2. purplume

    April 28, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Thank you Simply Me. Yes, when I walk to aerobics, I’ve worked up a sweat a little and it feels so good to get in the water and cool off too.
    Yay team!

     
  3. Sara

    April 28, 2010 at 8:20 am

    Godo job with the excercise!!! I really miss water aerobics, it is so much fun and makes you sweat.

    I also need to say goodbye to junk carbs. When I excercie, I think it’s okay to treat myself and it’s not okay cause I go way overaboard. We can do this and junk food be gone:)

    Have a great week,
    Sara

     
    • purplume

      April 28, 2010 at 8:22 am

      Yay junk food be gone, lucky, we need a little chocolate for the antioxidants though, right?

       
  4. shortmama

    April 28, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Losing inches is a great way to measure overall health as well, something I need to do soon so I know where Im starting out at. You are doing great with the exercise, keep up the good work!

     
  5. Kortney

    April 28, 2010 at 11:24 am

    KISS:

    I love to be minimal. I started getting rid of everything in the house that is not used on a regular basis (goodbye bread machine) and that does not make me happy (books i read but didn’t like yet returned to my bookshelf.) I regularly go through my closet and pull out everything that doesn’t make me feel awesome. That cuts down on the “I don’t have ANYTHING to wear” moments that happen when dressing. Its easier to enjoy the really good stuff when you weed out the mediocre.

     
  6. Cherylann

    April 28, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    I’m confused didn’t I see this entry last week? I really have to give that meme a try but RL is insane right now.

     
  7. Cherylann

    April 28, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Forget I said anything and remind me to read the dang post instead of just scanning it before I open my big mouth 🙂

    Keeping it simple I have pledged to give away 200 lbs of STUFF at a minimum this year. I have lots and there are lots and lots of people who need the stuff that just clutters up my house.

     
  8. Janine Chance

    April 30, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Great post! I am all about simplistic myself…my post today (thanks for visiting and for commenting!) was all about using my basic talents and furthering not only my own life, but others simultaneously. I’m all about it. If what I am doing is not doing anyone any good besides me, than it is not what I’m called to do. I’m psyched about your Wednesday Wisdom meme…I’ll definitely be linking up!

     
  9. Carol Anne

    May 3, 2010 at 3:24 am

    A fantastic post and a reminder of the art of simplicity. I’m currently reducing all my clutter and it is such a liberating feeling. Bright wishes as we dance into May. xx

     

Leave a Reply

