RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY and FLASH BACK FRIDAY

30 Apr


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday thing. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

*

Something that really made me happy this week is – comic books – I am joyously happy over comic books. Growing up I read everything I could get my hands on, including comics. My favorite was LIttle Lulu. And I was impressed that you could read classics illustrated and get the jist of a classic so quickly.

*

My aunt and mentor and godmother forbid comics. Lucky she wasn’t my mother and I could still read them. My aunt’s attitude was enough to keep from embracing comics till now. Now that I know living in others people’s opinions does not make me happy.

*

I read once that Charles Schultz, the creator of the Peanuts comic strip said, (paraphrased and from the ‘ol memory), that he was a fairly kind of person. He was a fairly good artist and a fairly good writer and a fairly good humorist. I love that he gave permission for kids everywhere to have security blankets like Linus did and still be okay.  I remember the days of it NOT being considered okay that a child was attached to a security object. I thought that one little thing that he did was huge. In the olden days children in hospitals were NOT allowed to have a favorite stuffed animal or blanket or their parents either a lot of the time.

*

I am a fairly kind of a person and today a very happy one.  Since turning to comics and graphic novels with Script Frenzy, I wanted to get some comics to study. My grocery store doesn’t sell comics but it turns out my library has a lot. I took out a graphic novel and I am in heaven looking at it.

*

My drawings will be sketchy gesture type line drawings – I think. Here’s a contour drawing I did years ago.

*

*

This post is doing double duty as my Flash Back Friday Post with Jennifer at My Crazy LIfe.

Flash Back Friday

<p> © 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur </p>

 
13 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “FEEL GOOD FRIDAY and FLASH BACK FRIDAY

  1. Laura

    April 30, 2010 at 11:48 am

    My mom LOVED Little LuLu comic books and saved a couple from when she was little and my dad spent 1 year in a childrens’s hospital from a broken hip! He says it was pretty pathetic there.

    Thank you for your cmment today. it looks as though we will be putting Emma asleep theis next week. It won’t be reflected in my posts as I have done them in advance. It is time.

    I will be writing about it however… just not now.

     
    • purplume

      April 30, 2010 at 12:17 pm

      I am sending prayers for all of you. It was so hard and sad when my dog died and I didn’t have to make the hard decisions.
      I think her spirit will go on to a happy place and will still love you all and watch over you and be with you in your heart.. 😄

       
  2. Jennifer

    April 30, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    great job I love that drawing and Peanuts always has such a great message I love it!

     
  3. Marianne

    May 1, 2010 at 5:32 am

    WOW! You’re a woman of many talents! Drawing, writing, gardening… what else are you keeping from us?

    Also, happy Mei Day! I’m sending you a virtual Lei 🙂

     
    • purplume

      May 8, 2010 at 9:26 am

      Thank you for my virtual lei. My other talents include, well, I’m a jack of all trades, like to do most things to a degree. I’m not musical or precise.

       
  4. Karen

    May 1, 2010 at 6:23 am

    Love the picture and your fgf story. I still wish I had some of those comic books I had as a kid. Have a good weekend.

     
  5. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    May 1, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    Very cool that you’re embracing comic books. I think your picture is awesome – much better than fair!

     
  6. liz

    May 1, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    I love your sketch! You are very talented. Thanks for stopping by!

     
    • purplume

      May 2, 2010 at 8:49 am

      Thanks Liz and welcome to WP. 😄

       
  7. Susan

    May 2, 2010 at 7:16 am

    I love line drawings- your is very expressive. I hope you share more!

     
  8. Katie

    May 3, 2010 at 4:20 am

    Beautiful drawing! I remember both my grandparents having closets full of Archie, Little Lulu and Richie Rich comic books and I was the same as you: I LOVED those things!

    Thanks for stopping by my place this weekend! Hope you have a good week!

     
  9. themindofifer

    May 3, 2010 at 6:17 am

    I love that sketch… it makes me want to snuggle deep into a blanket and just REST. Not necessarily sleep, but just rest…

     
    • purplume

      May 8, 2010 at 9:24 am

      What a nice response to my drawing Jennifer. Thanks.

       

Leave a Reply

