RSS

Wednesday Wisdom

05 May
Wednesday Wisdom

I’ve been wanting to come up with a meme. Here is my idea. It’s called Wednesday Wisdom.

*

When a friend said to me, “I want to tell you something, but you can’t tell anyone.” I replied then don’t tell me.

*

The friend said well, I’ll tell you anyway and proceeded to tell me about her challenges with another person.

*

A few minutes later the other person called and said, (honest to God), the same thing. “I want to tell you something but you can’t tell anyone.”  Again I said, then don’t tell me. She said, well, I’ll tell you anyway. She proceeded to tell me about her challenges with the other person.

*

I think each of them wanted me to be on ‘their’ side.

*

Gossiping is something I avoid, even or especially when I find myself wanting to tell a third party about someone who I perceive has ‘wronged’ me. Tell the person who ‘wronged’ you. It’s the more direct way to get some resolution.

*

Neither of those two friends has ever said that to me again. If they did, I think I would say don’t tell me. period end of story.

*

My next level of challenge is to say straight out to the person, “Are you trying to involve me in gossip?” I have avoided that statement so far out of fear of offending the other person. Enough already. I realize I would want someone to stop me if I were gossiping.

*

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Wednesday Wisdom

  1. Robin

    May 5, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    Yes, yes, so wise. Definitely one of those things I want so badly to adopt but never seem to follow through on. And I need to. You and your two friends? Sound like me and my two sisters, in infinite combinations.

     
    • purplume

      May 8, 2010 at 9:13 am

      Yes, it could be me and my three sisters. Best luck to you and all of us.

       

Leave a Reply

