RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY and FLASH BACK FRIDAY

07 May


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday thing. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

Something that made me happy this week is learning to use the Corel painting program.

OMG, I have been so frustrated and challenged. Finally after 5 days I have my first sketch for a cartoon.  I think I am really going to be able to do this. I am so happy.

I wish I could show it to you but it is of my grandson and his parents won’t want me to.

So, I did a sketch of myself from a photo when I was ten years old.

Okay, I need a lot of practice to get my hand co-ordinated with this drawing pad. I am happy to practice.  This gives me the proper proportions which would normally take a lot of drawing time to get back to.  I think I’m in heaven. And soon I get to color it too.

*
*
*
This post is doing double duty as my Flash Back Friday Post with Jennifer at My Crazy LIfe.

Flash Back Friday

For a related FLASH BACK FRIDAY, when I was young, I painted a page in a coloring book. I was so thrilled with it and I showed it to my parents and aunt and uncle. I told them I wanted to be an artist when I grow up.

*

They all laughed. I thought it was becasue they knew my idea was totally unrealistic. I wonder sometimes if maybe they laughed because I was so intent or maybe cute or something.

*

Later I drew a picture of Our Lady and I put prominent breasts on her. My mother told me I couldn’t do that.

*

Then in school one time I drew a picture of Jesus. My teacher, a nun, told me only a really good artist can draw Jesus. I got the picture that she didn’t think I qualified.

*

We all have that in so many ways don’t we? But now, I’ve become old enough that I can do what I want and be eccentric if I want. Do you want to join me?

*

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “FEEL GOOD FRIDAY and FLASH BACK FRIDAY

  1. Laura

    May 7, 2010 at 10:14 am

    Yes, yes i do want to join you!!!!!!!

    I use Photoshop and it took 1 big book and 2 full weeks to learn and go through each function! It is worthwhile though!!! I love your drawing.

    Also, thank you for your kind words on my post 🙂

     
    • purplume

      May 8, 2010 at 9:08 am

      So that is what you use to enhance your blog so well. Thanks for the encouragement Laura.

       
  2. Holly

    May 7, 2010 at 11:57 am

    I loved your post!!

    It’s too bad that some adults place limitations on children like that. And the nun should have been happy you were drawing Jesus and not something else!

    Glad to hear you’re moving back into drawing again. Good luck!!

     
    • purplume

      May 8, 2010 at 9:06 am

      Thanks Holly. Me too, that is I’m glad too.

       
  3. Mimi

    May 7, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Thanks so much for dropping by my FGF. I can’t wait to hear how my daughter does!! I loved what you did with Corel! I’ll be getting the software in the next week or so and am thrilled to see how awesome yours came out!!

    Have a great weekend.

    ~Mimi @ Woven by Words

     
  4. pandabox33

    May 7, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    I think your sketch is very good for someone who “needs to practice”.

     
    • purplume

      May 8, 2010 at 9:00 am

      Thank you Katie and Pandabox33. I appreciate your kind words. 😄

       
  5. Katie

    May 7, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    I think you did a terrific job, and you were a cutie when you were little!

     
  6. Mimi

    May 8, 2010 at 9:06 am

    I’m not sure what I’ll use the program for. I just hope I understand what to do with it when I get it. LOL I like hands on instruction as opposed to reading so hopefully there will be a good tutorial or something! I may have to come to you for advice!

    ~Mimi

     
  7. nuvofelt

    May 10, 2010 at 1:45 am

    I’ve been absent, but am back now. Will email – lots to catch up on!

    I would love to be able to use corel draw to its full potential – or paintshopro – or any of them really. I thought I had them cracked = but then I got a new computer….

     
    • purplume

      May 13, 2010 at 9:56 am

      OOh I know Nuvofelt. I love computers and like husbands, they can be SO frustrating.
      Welcome back to the Blogosphere. 😄

       
    • purplume

      May 15, 2010 at 4:55 pm

      Thanks Nuvofelt. It can be so frustrating trying to learn and then to have your computer change – yikes.

       

Leave a Reply

