RSS

My Edible Garden

10 May

Last Wednesday, when I showed the contents of my kitchen, I forgot about nature’s pantry out in my yard.

Dragonfruit Cactus

*

Some things, like this Dragonfruit,  are not bearing fruit right now.

*

Lemon Tree

*

White Pineapple

*

Beets

*

Arugula

*

Swiss Chard

*

Tomatos

*

Basil

*

Edible Chrysanthemum, flowers and greens.

*

Coffee

*

There’s a post about my coffee here.

*

Frizee lettuce

*

Red Leaf Lettuce

*

Mango

*

Grapefruit

*

Papaya

*

Lillikoi Vine, passionfruit.

*

Bamboo

*

Kukui Nuts, the secret of beautiful Hawaiian skin.*

*

Macadamia Nut Tree

*

Limes

*

Cherimoya

*

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
15 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2010 in Abundance, garden

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

15 responses to “My Edible Garden

  1. Coretta

    May 10, 2010 at 8:08 am

    I love your Garden.

     
  2. Laura

    May 10, 2010 at 8:49 am

    Wowee – that is quite the fantastic and yummy garden! Now I am craving a salad 🙂

     
    • purplume

      May 15, 2010 at 5:05 pm

      Thanks Coretta and Laura. I’ll have a salad for you. 😄

       
  3. Katie

    May 10, 2010 at 11:20 am

    That’s the first time I’ve ever seen a pineapple in the “wild”. I’ve always wondered how they grew! Great pictures!

     
  4. Holly

    May 10, 2010 at 11:35 am

    I LOVE your garden! You realize you’re lucky to have all that tropical fruit in your yard, don’t you?

    You might want to snip the flowers off the basil to extend its life. They will often die after going to flower and then seed.

     
  5. Marianne

    May 10, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Uh, can I live in your backyard!?!?! Oh my goodness, that looks DELICIOUS! I had recipes running through my mind at every picture! Seriously, you really are a woman of many talents. And how I wish I could grow pineapple and mango and lemon here!

     
  6. Angela Cerrito

    May 10, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    Wow! You are surrounded by good things!
    I love the pictures, esp the white pineapple!

     
  7. Robin

    May 11, 2010 at 3:45 am

    White pineapple! And coffee! It just doesn’t get better than that. Great garden.

     
  8. Kim

    May 11, 2010 at 8:30 am

    Are you kidding me! That is amazing. I can’t believe you get all that fresh fruit right from your yard. And the coffee! I’m very jealous.

     
  9. Cherylann

    May 11, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    MMMMM I wish I lived with you. Planting season doesn’t even arrive here for another week and a half 🙂

     
  10. denise

    May 11, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    wow, i am so jealous! arugula is my favorite green but also my local bunnies’ favorite…i love that you grow pineapple, mango, papaya (i have yet to find any papaya better than what we ate daily in hawaii)…i’d love to hear how you balance all that…what you eat, when, how you combine it all into meals, timing of when it is ripe, etc. i haven’t figured out any of that in my own garden yet. and i still love your coffee post from back in the day and want to share a cup of french press kona with you someday! i just planted sunflowers and hope to plant pumpkins this next week…i need to seek gardening advice but from the looks of your yard i’d say the secret is “live in hawaii”!

     
  11. Angie

    May 12, 2010 at 7:14 am

    What a wonderful growing climate you have to produce such a wide variety of fruits, nuts, and vegetables. I think I just might be green with envy about that! 😉 Seriously though, you obviously have a green thumb to go along with your other gifts.

     
  12. Jb

    May 13, 2010 at 1:25 am

    Wow! You have some awesome things in your backyard! That should be fun incorporating all that into your menu!
    (First visit to your blog…thanks for coming to mine).

     
  13. Solnushka

    May 13, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    And there was me being impressed by my four types of herb on my balcony. How cool is your garden!

    It’s wrong that the pineapple looks totally wrong in the wild to me, isn’t it? Pineapples clearly spring fully formed from the storerooms of the supermarket. They simply do not grow, particularly not perched on top of a very attractive plant like that.

     

Leave a Reply

