RSS

FROM MUFFIN TOP TO SKINNY JEANS

12 May

Short Mama at Family Of Shorts started this meme and I want in. I want the results.

*

This week Shortmama invites us to answer these questions:

How are you going to handle this while sticking to the new healthy eating choices you have been making? Do you say forget it I’m on vacation, I will go back to healthy eating when I get home?

*

This is very timely for me. Tomorrow I am joining my son in Honolulu for a few days. Usually when I am traveling. I run into too many low quality carbs.

*

Last week when we posted the contents of our kitchen, I thought afterward about nature’s pantry in my backyard, and posted about it last Monday.

*

When I travel I long for more healthy vegetables. I don’t like it when I order a salad and it’s mostly iceberg lettuce or I get a serving of overcooked vegetables. I found myself wishing I could take my garden with me. And lo and behold: one day I had too many beet greens to eat and dried them. Now I have a ziplock of dried beet greens and chard. I can order soup and put some in it. Better yet in flight or in the hotel room I can make instant soup with hot water and add dried greens.

*

Another challenge for me is when I am craving protein and a restaurant serves turkey burgers. I love to get that, especially smothered with mushrooms. My challenge is to only eat half the bun or less. I just remembered I have some healthy mixed grain and seed crackers. If I kept some in my purse, I could eat those instead of the white flour bun.

*

I am feeling very optimistic about eating over the next few days. Good thing too because I injured my iliopsoas muscle and have been resting it instead of exercising.

*

<p> © 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur </p>

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “FROM MUFFIN TOP TO SKINNY JEANS

  1. Holly

    May 12, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Regarding the turkey burger, be sure to order it WITHOUT the bun, otherwise it will be staring you in the face and tempting you throughout the whole meal. Also, whenever the wait person brings the bread basket, it’s best to just send it back and not let it sit there on the table.

    I loved your dried greens idea!

    Good luck!!

     
    • purplume

      May 16, 2010 at 1:40 pm

      That is the perfect idea Holly. That would help a lot. XD

       
  2. shortmama

    May 12, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    So jealous of your little trip to visit your son! Sounds like you can get through it by planning ahead!

     
  3. Bonnie K

    May 13, 2010 at 1:08 am

    This staying healthy challenge, losing weight is a lifetime struggle especially when it’s still so hard to maintain yourself up against the poisons that look so good.
    So I’m with you. I have the month of July to deal with. For now, as long as I’m home I’m in control.
    Bonnie

     
  4. themindofifer

    May 13, 2010 at 3:12 am

    I just wish that the healthy foods tasted as good to me as the bad ones 🙂

     
  5. Laura

    May 13, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    I think you have a really great frame of mind on this.

     
  6. Solnushka

    May 13, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    That greens idea is such a clever one. Not that I will ever put it into practice…

     
  7. purplume

    May 16, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    Shortmama,
    Thanks for leading us in this.

    Bonnie,
    You make me appreciate the control I have at home.

    Ifer,
    Me too, how about chocolate vegetables.

    Laura,
    Thank you, now to keep it going.

    Solnushka,
    Thank you.

     
  8. denise

    May 16, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    great tips! i’m always looking for ways to eat healthy traveling or just when i’m forced to eat fast food…i have a lot of kale and have been told how delicious it is dried so i’m totally on that…

     

Leave a Reply

