RSS

OW, OW, SCRATCH, SCRATCH – COPING WITH SHINGLES

24 May

As I write this, I have shingles. It’s my second time. It leaves me with the thought why did this happen to me? And better yet, how can I prevent it’s recurrence.

*

I can rule out most but not all of the causes. On-line, I found information that red yeast rice which is a statin can contribute to shingles. Cholesterol functions to coat nerve endings.  Both times, I got shingles after taking red yeast rice.

*

Guess what I won’t be taking anymore?

*

This time the shingles is on my left trunk. Dr. Babinet pointed out that in Eastern medicine, the left side has to do with honoring the essence of our own uniqueness.

*

He gave me three affirmations to work with.

I am free to be me.

I am allowing the world to support me.

I am open to receive according to my own expression.

*

I created a triple whammy in this area by feeling challenged to set boundaries, connecting to a person without boundaries and judging myself for being ineffective and getting angry. It’s interesting to me that I could have done everything the same and been much further ahead by leaving out the part of judging myself.

*

Oprah had an article in her newsletter that I find comfort in. It is about setting boundaries. I love the first exercise for all the permission it gives to honor your unique boundaries, and before that to come to know what they are.

*

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
13 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “OW, OW, SCRATCH, SCRATCH – COPING WITH SHINGLES

  1. Thea

    May 24, 2010 at 8:10 am

    I love those affirmations 🙂

     
  2. Holly

    May 24, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Sounds like you have a great doctor! I used to have major problems with boundaries. I remember my former homeopath telling me I was like a castle that always kept its drawbridge down, and that I needed to learn when I could keep my drawbridge down and when I needed to raise it.

    Good luck!! Take care. Rest up!

     
  3. jacabur1

    May 24, 2010 at 10:37 am

    All I have to say to this is OUCH, had em, hate em and hope never have recurrence again!!!!
    I do love your philosophy though, myself am too impatient to put it to use and being raised using “Western” medicine myself think that might have a bit to do with it.

    I love that you are writing about something “icky” and yet at the top of the post you have the most beautiful serenely flowering Hibiscus in vibrant healthy red. I think maybe you have “tuned in” to something positive there and that is a good part of the healing process, being positive and not stressing your body out more!

    jackie b central texas

     
  4. blkdrama

    May 24, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Thanks for sharing this honest issue and I’m wondering did you get any support from a western-style doctor?
    Bonnie

     
    • purplume

      May 27, 2010 at 10:20 am

      No Bonnie, for me a Western style Dr. is a last resort.

       
  5. Petty Witter

    May 24, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    Nasty. I have chronic regional pain syndrome which I’m told has a pain similar to shingles so you have my every sympathy. Good that you seem to have a good doctor, it makes such a big difference.

     
    • purplume

      May 27, 2010 at 10:22 am

      Petty Witter, I’m sorry to hear you deal with chronic pain. Bless you and good luck with it. Euthanasia was starting to sound good to me. And now today I feel almost human. yay.

       
  6. Jb

    May 25, 2010 at 1:02 am

    So were you taking the red yeast rice for Cholesterol issues? So do you have problems with all kinds of yeast?
    That’s great that you have a doctor who is thinking about non-traditional solutions to your problem!

     
    • purplume

      May 27, 2010 at 10:24 am

      Yes I was taking the red yeast rice for cholesterol. I love yeast bread. Yum.
      Bertrand Babinet is all about looking at non-traditional solutions. I call him for all kinds of health challenges.

       
  7. pandabox33

    May 27, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    I’m sorry but the word shingles makes me laugh. To me it’s a bizarre english word. But I’m very sorry that you caught that.
    These are lovely affirmations.

     
    • purplume

      May 29, 2010 at 8:45 am

      You tickle me with your comment and humor and tickling are appreciated always.

       
  8. Robin

    June 1, 2010 at 5:58 am

    It’s a very bizarre word, you’re so right. Are you better? My sister gets shingles — fairly often, actually. For some reason chicken pox comes to mind; another itchy illness, maybe? I don’t know, but I do know hers breaks out in times of stress… feel better!

     
    • purplume

      June 2, 2010 at 3:30 pm

      Thanks Robin. Shingles is the chicken pox virus staying dormant and reactivating. The rash looks just like chicken pox.

      Tell your sister I feel for her. Euthanasia came to mind at the worst of it. 😄

       

Leave a Reply

