RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

28 May


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday thing. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

*

In Oprah’s newsletter this morning I read a line by Martha Beck

Once you begin listening to your heart, I guarantee it’s going to say some things that shock you—otherwise, you wouldn’t have locked it away in the first place. You may discover that your heart wants to spend your paycheck on flowers or wear purple spandex to a board meeting. You don’t have to act on these impulses, but you must not judge or repress them.

*

When I tuned in, I saw my inner child in my mind’s eye. She was covered in jewels. I am a minimalist. My inner child is not. She doesn’t care if the jewels are plastic – the more the better.

*

Rajkumar1220

*

In the mindset of not judging or repressing, I decided I could wear a gaudy ring I have, as I headed out to the beach.

*

My minimalist self was wearing shorts and a shirt and flip flops. I planned to walk at the beach barefoot. I found two large gem rings to include with my outfit.

*

I was smiling as I walked to the beach.  I noticed now my inner child had on fairy wings, larger than she is. They are translucent gauzy white with sparkles and specs of color.

*

I decided I could wear imaginary fairy wings and immediately my posture improved.

*

Giladr

*

Then I noticed I had antennae with little red hearts on the tips. The antenae were communicating fairy talk with lots of inkle sounds. Pinkle, twinkle, vinkle, hinkle, jinkle, tinkle.

*

I giggled and realized other people at the beach probably did not even know they had fairy wings on, but my antennae were communicating with them anyway.

*

I wasn’t planning to get back to jogging yet, until I realized fairy wings give lift.

*

I think I will keep my wings on all day. My husband doesn’t know he has some on too. Inkle, pinkle, twinkle.

*

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2010 in Abundance, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

  1. jacabur1

    May 28, 2010 at 8:55 am

    If I did not feel good today, I do now. Thanks so much my inner child loves yours J B !!!

    jackie b central texas

     
  2. Holly

    May 28, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Loved your post!! Thanks for putting a smile on my face. Hugs!!

     
  3. Holly

    May 28, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    I also read that cayenne pepper (something we use daily in food) is great for shingles: http://jcrows.com/cayenne.html. Hugs!

     
  4. Laura

    May 29, 2010 at 3:15 am

    Oh that was so beautiful!!! I will wear my wings today too!!!! I love how there is such joy in you!

    Have a wonderful weekend.

     
  5. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    May 29, 2010 at 5:04 am

    Sometimes I’m forced to wear imaginary gowns, fairy wings and the like. It does change the way you carry yourself!

     
  6. purplume

    May 29, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Oh thanks. I was wondering if I was too far out there. It was pure fun. 😄

     
  7. Jb

    May 29, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    Hey there!
    I’m sharing my first award with you…The Versatile Blogger! Hope you enjoy it! And thanks for keeping me entertained! If you want it, come on over: http://www.homemakerspensieve.com/2010/05/29/my-first-award/

     
  8. Jb

    May 29, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    What a fun walk! (I love that your husband was “wearing” them too…heehee).

     
    • purplume

      June 2, 2010 at 2:55 pm

      Me too, but don’t tell him. Xd

       
  9. Petty Witter

    May 30, 2010 at 3:32 am

    A lovely feel good post – both myself and my inner child enjoyed it.

     
  10. joann mannix

    May 30, 2010 at 6:27 am

    Lovely post! I need to indulge in this kind of exercise. I will wear fairy wings today and adorn my body in big, sparkly jewels. And since, I too, am going to the beach, it should be amazing fun!

     
    • purplume

      June 2, 2010 at 3:23 pm

      Yes amazing fun. The wings should make exercise a breeze while burning extra calories. 😄

       

Leave a Reply

