RSS

Two Awards

30 May

Super Comments Award

Marianne from Fickle White Woman gave me this award. Thank you Marianne. I am very grateful. XD

*

Versatile Blogger Award

And then to my surprise I received the Versatile Blogger’s award from Jb at the Homemaker’s Pensieve.

*

I’m answering the questions from the first award and having that cover telling 7 things about myself from the second award.

*

1. Why do you blog?
*

I spent a challenging long winter in Quincy, Massachusetts one year. One thing that helped me get through it, was a page in the Boston Globe newspaper called CONFIDENTIAL CHAT. People wrote chatty things about their lives. I felt connected. Blogging does that for me. The thing I value most is the oneness of us all.

*

2. What was your favorite age to be and why?
*

Usually I say 40, but lately I realize my 7 year old self was all that I am. There was no lack.

*

3. What’s your favorite sport to play?

*
Jogging. Give me the wind in my hair and the feeling of freedom.

*

4. What’s your favorite sport to watch, and who’s your favorite team?

*

I married my husband because he doesn’t watch sports. I do like figure skating.

*

5. If you could pick your perfect career (and money doesn’t matter / the kids are out of the house) what would it be?

*

What I do, writing – being my own boss, on my own schedule and connecting. It’s called retired.

*

6. Do you ever feel guilty for blogging?

*

No, I consider it my raison d’etre.

*

7. What is your favorite holiday?

*

Christmas. Ideally every morning I wake up with ‘Christmas morning wonder.” Someone said to me once, oh presents? I love presents but no, it’s about creating a beautiful day and watching it unfold. I was one of the oldest in a large family. It was so much joy to help prepare everything and watch the younger children be enchanted.

*

8. What’s your favorite kind of music?

*

For exercising I like a good beat, most of the time I like silence or classical.

*

9. Do you consider yourself a good driver or bad driver?

*

I’m a good driver. I’m a Meyer’s Briggs intuitive. INFJ. Keep the Meyer’s Briggs Sensory perceivers  out of my car. They think you have to be looking everywhere all the time. My daughter is excluded from this and my hubby is included.

*

10. What’s the farthest away place you have visited?

*

Egypt, oh lordy, I felt like I was home when I was there. I wouldn’t want to live there, but it felt like home. Does that mean I was Nefertiti  in a past life? Muhaha.

*

Here are the people I am awarding both these awards to. Yes it is a toofer. I picked these names by a secret process because there are so many of you who deserve it.

*

If your name isn’t here and you want it, it is yours. Goodness sakes if you are reading this you have excellent taste. Ho ho ho

Seriously, if you are reading this I appreciate you and am grateful. Hoo hoo.

*

The rules for awards are:
1. Thank the person who gave you this award.
2. Share 7 things about yourself or answer the questions or do something better that you think of.
3. Pass the award along to bloggers who you think are fantastic!
4. Contact the bloggers you’ve picked and let them know about the award.
( Rules are flexible, in case you’re not good with rules!)

Family of Shorts

Housewife Blues and Chihuahua Stories

Mommy’s Journey

Images That Move With The Words

Crush Mix Blend

Daily Coping Skills

*

*

*

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

10 responses to “Two Awards

  1. jacabur1

    May 30, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    JB you are just too kind and I appreciate these very much. I also appreciate the fact that when I come here there is always something of interest that you enjoy sharing with us to read.

    Out of all of your answers I like #’s 4 & 5 the best because we also do not watch sports, thank goodness my sweetie feels the same as I do that they are boring and not worth the time and yes being “retired” is the best job on the planet. I am too young to be called a retiree but that is how I feel after working for so many years full time and taking care of the house, the husband, the yard, the pets and all the hundred and one things that needed to be done. I feel very happy to be able to work around my home at my own pace instead of before work, at lunch time to run and do errands and then come home to work past dark trying to get anything taken care of before starting all over the next day!! Too much stress like that is what is wrong with our families today with both the spouses working full time and then trying to take care of personal needs also, it just burns you out!!!

    I will work on doing a post on this next week, when my sweet is home on the weekend everything on the blog is scheduled and I check my email and do my comments sporadically on and off and that is about it computer wise!!

    Again thanks and if you mean a link for the Blogfest in September go here:

    http://ajourneyofbooks.halfzero.net/2010/05/blog-fest-2010-sign-up-now.html

    jackie b central texas

     
    • purplume

      June 2, 2010 at 3:26 pm

      Thanks for the link Jackie. I do feel for people especially all those mothers out there with so much on their plate. I am so grateful for retirement. I’m glad you have that kind of set up at a young age.
      XD

       
  2. denise

    May 30, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    thank you so much j.b…i really enjoy your blog and though i quickly read your 7+ things (interesting, by the way!) about yourself, i’d like to come back and comment on them and of course thank you for this award and do my own 7 things, etc. etc. but we are spending 3 solid memorial weekend days at the beach and then after dinner dropping out with the kids so i just wanted to drop by and thank you and let you know i look forward to this endeavor in a few days…

     
    • purplume

      June 2, 2010 at 3:27 pm

      Bless you busy Momma. I hope you had your best weekend ever.

       
  3. Laura

    June 1, 2010 at 8:47 am

    “raison d’etre” I love it!!! That would make a great blog name and it is a great philosophy!

    Congrats on your award and I love the people you chose!!

     
    • purplume

      June 2, 2010 at 3:28 pm

      Thanks Laura. You would know and love those people since you know everyone in blogville, practically.
      XD

       
  4. chefyourself

    June 2, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    When I started in this blogging business and received my first award, I rolled my eyes and cringed at thoughts of chain emails. That was months ago. I really enjoying reading the answers, it’s probably the best way to get to know your BFFs (bloggers friends forever).

     
  5. Marianne

    June 2, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    “It’s called retired.”

    HAHA! I wish I had put that as my perfect job… being retired in Hawaii! Loved that whole answer though. You have such a natural talent for writing; thank you for allowing me to get a peak into some of it 🙂

    On another note: I didn’t even know there was a man in this entire universe that did not like sports.

    Glad you enjoyed the award! You absolutely, positively deserve it. Even though I neglect to comment a lot, I read your blog everytime a new post is up… just sometimes what you have said is more profound than I can reply to. And I mean that.

     
    • purplume

      June 4, 2010 at 3:13 pm

      OMG, what a kind thing to say. I am touched. Bless you.

       

Leave a Reply

