RSS

BOOK REVIEW – THE HINOMOTO REBELLION

31 May

TITLE: THE HINOMOTO REBELLION – Book One of the Aka Ryuu Chronicles.

AUTHOR: Elizabeth Staley

PAPERBACK: 352 Pages.
*
It was lucky I could clear my schedule this weekend because once I got into this book, I didn’t want to put it down. This SciFi/Fantasy novel set in future Japan is a superbly crafted hero’s journey.
*

It’s also lucky that because I did Script Frenzy, I found Liz and her blog, where I won a copy of this book. I was very interested in her work because she writes AND illustrates. She does both with excellence.

*

The heroine is in a group of young people banded together to fight injustice. Have you heard the saying that girls will read books with a male or female main character, but boys only want books with a male main character? I think boys will also like this book because there are so many strong secondary characters who are male.

*

These characters get their way into your heart for their loyalty and valor, while having endearing humanness that is so interesting.

*

I love that the heroine has multiple sets of the same outfit. That is something I do when I find something I love.

*
Well plotted, the ending was ultimately satisfying and emotional. A sequel is set up at the end of the book. Looking forward to that helps to assuage the sense of loss over finishing the book and leaving the alternate reality you’ve been in.

*

The cover art is by Julie Minter.  The author did all the interior illustrations and she publishes a web comic three times a week here.

*

The next book in the Aka Ryuu Chronicles will come out in 2011.

*

*

*

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 31, 2010 in Book Review

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “BOOK REVIEW – THE HINOMOTO REBELLION

  1. lizstaley

    May 31, 2010 at 11:34 am

    Thank you so much for the review!

     
    • purplume

      June 2, 2010 at 3:32 pm

      You are very welcome. Thanks for the book. I am very grateful. XD

       
  2. Jb

    June 1, 2010 at 1:12 am

    So, I assume you’ll be reading that book over and over till the pages are just a pile of pulp? 😉

     
    • purplume

      June 2, 2010 at 3:33 pm

      You crack me up. It is rare that I read a book over and over. Love the image of a pile of pulp.
      How does that translate with a kindle. Not that I have one, but someday…

       
  3. Petty Witter

    June 1, 2010 at 2:53 am

    What an interesting book cover. A great review, not a genre I would normally have thought of reading, I’m not intrigued.

     
  4. Petty Witter

    June 1, 2010 at 2:53 am

    What an interesting book cover. A great review, not a genre I would normally have thought of reading, I’m now intrigued.

     
  5. Petty Witter

    June 1, 2010 at 2:56 am

    Whoops a gremlin in the works. That should of course have read as my second comment and not my first. Trying to be too clever, my finger was obviously moving faster than my brain.

     
    • purplume

      June 2, 2010 at 3:34 pm

      Thank you for your comments. I hope you are having your most comfortable day ever.

       
  6. Laura

    June 1, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    I do that. If I find something I really love, i will buy another. I learned the hard way with jeans. Now if I find a pair that is too awesome, i buy 2 more and keep the tags on 🙂

     
    • purplume

      June 2, 2010 at 3:35 pm

      Oh yes Laura, especially jeans. IF I could find any I love that would be the way to go.

       

Leave a Reply

