RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

04 Jun


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday thing. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

*

Since I’ve started doing this meme, I wanted to do the prompt  that brings a smile to someone’s face. (In particular for my husband).

*

I do make him smile with my lame jokes but I wanted more.

*

Finally I found something. You see my husband isn’t big on presents and he lives very simply.

*

He bought a two pound package of pastrami at Costco and he divided it into portions and froze them.

*

Guess what made him smile? He likes the outer edges with the pepper on them. When I took a serving for myself I cut the outer edges off. I saved them in the freezer until I had a serving that was all outer edges.

*

I know pretty little when it comes to doing for others, but it worked .

*

Thank you Girl Next Door.

*

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
21 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

21 responses to “FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

  1. Holly

    June 4, 2010 at 11:34 am

    That’s such a cute idea! I love it. What a nice and totally unexpected surprise.

     
  2. jackie b central texas

    June 4, 2010 at 11:38 am

    J B That is a priceless gift of thoughtfulness. Not only does it prove you pay attention but that you care enough to act on the thought of doing something for your sweetie, good for him!!!

    It is the little moments in life that bless us!

    jackie b 😀

     
  3. Amber

    June 4, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    That is super thoughtful! I’m sure he really appreciated that. 🙂

     
  4. purplume

    June 4, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Thank you all. And it had the added benefit of cutting down my portion size. I didn’t even miss it. hee hee.

     
  5. bonnie

    June 4, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    What a lovely meme. I am thinking about Tuvia as I read your moments. Am thinking about what I would write. Isn’t that the most you can expect? You write and I am thinking about it, inspired.
    Bonnie

     
    • purplume

      June 4, 2010 at 3:37 pm

      Yes, that is the best. I’d love to hear what you come up with for Tuvia. 😄

       
  6. madison

    June 4, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    How completely thoughtful of you. Instead of focusing so much on the annoying habits of my husband, I think I’ll focus more on doing something nice for him. I bet that is a gift that gives back.

     
  7. purplume

    June 4, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Hey, that would be good Madison. Then we can keep it going back and forth. 😄

     
  8. Petty Witter

    June 4, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    What a thoughtful person. I love lame jokes.

     
    • purplume

      June 8, 2010 at 9:16 pm

      Aw, I love a lame joke lover. 😄

       
  9. pandabox33

    June 5, 2010 at 3:36 am

    LOL well done !

     
  10. Tami

    June 5, 2010 at 10:48 am

    What a sweet idea! I’m sure your husband loved it!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog:)

     
  11. Nadja

    June 5, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    That’s so sweet =) It reminds me that I need to do something nice for my hubby. I really do take him for granted. Thanks for the reminder

     
  12. Jb

    June 6, 2010 at 2:28 am

    Isn’t it funny how the littlest (seemingly) thing can make someone happy. I think it’s because it feels good to know that someone is thinking about us and wanting to make us happy.

     
  13. Laura

    June 6, 2010 at 9:40 am

    Ohhh that is sweet. It is all about the little things and this one surely is sweet! I bet he had a HUGE smile on his face!!

     
  14. denise

    June 6, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    totally love the “little things” i even have this as a label on my blog…thanks for all your support lately and ongoing…i need to figure out a good balance between e-mails, commenting, etc. to express my appreciation but hopefully as long as i find you it doesn’t matter how/where…on a more related note to this post, my husband is totally into “living simply” and would prefer a cleaning project to a gift anytime…he’d throw out 80% of what we own in fact…love this idea of what you did for your husband so i’ll try to think of a corollary for my own with father’s day coming up…

     
  15. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    June 7, 2010 at 1:50 am

    That’s very sweet. I made my dad’s day this weekend by sharing a can of anchovies with him. The little things make a big difference!

     
  16. Kim

    June 7, 2010 at 3:56 am

    That is so fun and creative! There’s nothing like knowing the little things that make the person you love happy.

     
  17. Thea

    June 7, 2010 at 4:21 am

    Beautiful gesture! A pastrami kiss from his Sweetheart. 🙂

     
  18. purplume

    June 8, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Thank you all. You are so sweet. Want some pastrami?

     
  19. Fiorella

    June 9, 2010 at 5:50 am

    That’s my favorite part of the pastrami too! Now that’s two pieces of evidence as to his good taste! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

