RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

11 Jun


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday thing. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

*

*

This may not look like much – an old watch with a broken band.

*

I’m not much of a saver, but so far I haven’t been able to part with this.

*

When my oldest was a teenager, I suddenly became a single parent of three and increased my part time work to full time. It was challenging in all ways and I wasn’t coming up with the money to get myself a watch.

*

I worked as a nurse and it was necessary to have a watch. It was getting very ‘old’ to find ways to manage without one.

*

Some patient rooms had clocks and some patients wore watches and I could borrow one from a different do-worker each time I needed one.

*

I didn’t have any long term goals to get myself one. I was just keeping up with the bills. (sound of violins here.)

*

For Mother’s Day, my eldest who worked at a department store, bought me this watch.

*

It brings tears to my eyes that he even knew I needed one. He was like that. His gifts were very thoughtful.

*

When he used my car, he always left the audio tape on my favorite song.

*

I am very blessed. I’m thinking about decorating a picture frame with lovable treasures like this. Then I can see them all the time.

*

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
24 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2010 in Abundance, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

24 responses to “FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

  1. Holly

    June 11, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Beautiful story! Can you get it fixed so you can still use it? If not, the picture frame idea is great! Happy weekend.

     
    • purplume

      June 12, 2010 at 9:07 am

      I don’t think it’s fixable. Thanks Holly. Happy weekend to you too.

       
  2. jackie b central texas

    June 11, 2010 at 11:41 am

    I had my husband take some “small treasures” and mount them on a piece of cedar and then he clear coat sealed them so they now hang on a wall and I have them to look at. One thing about it, the watch may not work, the band may be broken but the loving memory it represents is always going to be a priceless gift to you every time you look at it!!!

    jackie b

     
    • purplume

      June 12, 2010 at 9:07 am

      That’s even better Jackie. If I put it on a frame, I’ll have to decide what to put in the frame. I like the idea of arranging some lovable things and I especially like the idea of clear coating them. Perfect. thanks.

       
      • jackie b central texas

        June 12, 2010 at 4:04 pm

        Glad could help, thanks for coming to check out Insatiable and you probably better not read it. I am pretty “hard core” on what I can read and or watch on movies and TV and the book even made me squirm a few times!!!

        Out of town tomorrow, Monday and Tuesday with the DH so off the Net till home and that will be late..

        jackie b

         
  3. Fiorella

    June 11, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    I just got choked up a bit at the comment about how observant your oldest is, when he bought you a watch when you didn’t realize he knew you needed one. He sounds amazing and caring. You are fortunate. Great post!

     
    • purplume

      June 12, 2010 at 9:08 am

      I am Fiorella, thanks. And his wife is too. XD

       
    • purplume

      June 26, 2010 at 10:59 am

      Fiorella,
      Your comments would only take a google login. Will you consider taking comment using out blog to log in?

       
  4. madison

    June 11, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Wow, a teenage boy being so observant that he realized his mom needed a watch. Most husbands aren’t that observant. What a great kid.

     
    • purplume

      June 12, 2010 at 9:09 am

      That’s true isn’t it Madison. Thanks.

       
  5. Nadja

    June 11, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    It’s amazing just how much kids are able to pick up without us even noticing it. your son sounds like such a sweetheart. It was a beautiful post. Thanks for sharing!

     
    • purplume

      June 12, 2010 at 9:09 am

      Thanks Nadia, I love him. XD

       
  6. Petty Witter

    June 12, 2010 at 2:25 am

    Blessed indeed. What a thoughtful son you have, he has obviously been well brought up.

     
    • purplume

      June 12, 2010 at 9:11 am

      There are so many things I wish I could have done better. The children definitely deserved the best.

      He always was accepting of me with my warts and of his father too.

       
  7. denise

    June 12, 2010 at 3:23 am

    i love this post on so many levels…just the photo of the watch and old school fabric was so lovely (i LOVE that watch, by the way, independent of this story! so simple yet elegant)…your son’s thoughtful “little things” brought tears to my eyes…you are blessed indeed.

     
  8. denise

    June 12, 2010 at 3:25 am

    just laughing at the “blessed indeed” at the end of my comment…i glanced up as i hit “submit” and saw petty witter started with the same idea…is that because you are “blessed indeed” or because i saw it out of the corner of my eye while i was typing and didn’t even realize it? just funny how the mind works but you are blessed either way!!

     
    • purplume

      June 12, 2010 at 9:12 am

      I find that too, just as I’m hitting send, I catch a phrase that I included. Without even realizing it fully, we are so impacted by others. XD

       
  9. pandabox33

    June 12, 2010 at 5:48 am

    That’s so sweet !

     
  10. Marianne

    June 12, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Wow, what a moving story!

    Your son sounds like a very special person. I just can’t imagine a teen these days being that in touch with his mother’s needs.

    Great FGF post, Jb! Really loved this.

    Happy weekend 🙂

     
  11. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    June 12, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    That is such a sweet gift. It’s nice to keep things like that around that bring up such fond memories.

     
  12. Laura

    June 13, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Fantastic post!! You must put it in a frame – it needs to be looked at.

    What a sweet boy and so thoughtful, but really… after getting to know you through your blog – you raised him to be as sweet as you!

    Last year for my birthday Emily used her own money to buy me some t-shirts since I hadn’t bought any for myself and then she bought me a case for my cell phone. I cried and cried at her thoughtfulness and then forbade her to spend her money on me like that again!!! Now I say to keep it under $10!!

    She tried to give me the gifts a week early and I know how hard it was for her to wait. She was dying for me to open them!

     
    • purplume

      June 18, 2010 at 8:02 am

      That is so sweet of Emily. I think your third sentence above is really about you and Emily.
      XD

       
  13. Jb

    June 14, 2010 at 1:17 am

    Oh wow! You’re son is so sweet! I wouldn’t want to part with that watch either!
    Be sure to post a picture of whatever you create to display it!

     
    • purplume

      June 18, 2010 at 8:02 am

      Thank you Jb, I will. I’m slowly accumulating the things I want to include.

       

Leave a Reply

