RSS

FROM MUFFIN TOP TO SKINNY JEANS

23 Jun

Short Mama at Family Of Shorts started this meme and I want in. I want the results.
*
From Shortmama:

Ok so this week I want to know how you plan to avoid overeating or junk eating now that the kids are on summer break?

Lets see, do I have a plan? No. Okay my plan? if I knew what it was? I would say? – Oh I got it.

*

In Oprah’s e-mail newsletter, she had a test to see what kind of weight management program would suit a person the best.

*

I took the test, and….

*

It suggested I would be best suited to a spirit based program.

*

If you’re wondering what that is, I was too.

*

There was a link for one and as I read about it, I relaxed. There was another also, which I didn’t read.

*

It seemed to me to be saying that our bodies are magnificently able to let us know when they need nutrients, e.g. craving and when we are full. The premise seemed to be if we focus on listening to what our body is telling us, we will be ahead.

*

This reminded me of a study I read many years ago. In it children were fed from a cafeteria line and were free to choose whatever food they wanted. The researchers discovered; IF an appetite was not seduced by sweets and junk food, the child ended up selecting a balanced diet.

*

My plan is to avoid the junk and pay more attention to my body’s signals.

*

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “FROM MUFFIN TOP TO SKINNY JEANS

  1. Holly

    June 23, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Good plan! I think as long as people eat healthy fruit/veggie to protein ratios, and eat real food as opposed to processed junk, limit portion sizes, eat 5-6 meals a day rather than 3 giant ones, and limit the grains, that’s all you need to know to eat healthy.

    I do love quizzes though, so I gave this one a try after reading your post. It’s funny, because I dislike the whole concept of diets, but have been following the Zone for a few years now. I see it more as a style of eating than a diet. But the quiz didn’t recommend it to me! I got higher points in the Lifestyle and Restrictive diets. Funny.

     
    • purplume

      June 26, 2010 at 9:23 am

      What are lifestyle and restrictive diets like? Interesting. Let me know if you do anything with the lifestyle and restrictive diets Holly?

       
  2. shortmama

    June 23, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Good plan!

     
  3. Marianne

    June 23, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    See, I hear my body say, “Hey you, choose better food, ok?”

    But my problem is actually LISTENING to my body.

    And I know all the proper ways to eat in order to maintain a healthy weight and what not… but again, I don’t exactly apply that knowledge.

    A constant battle, I tell ya. I have serious issues with food though. I probably consume under 1000 calories more days than not. And I’m still overweight.

    Psychs would have a field day picking my brain, I’m sure 😉

    PS, I’ve been meaning to ask, do you have an email address you’d be willing to share with me? I can’t tell you how many times I want to respond to your comments and am unable to do so!

     
    • purplume

      June 26, 2010 at 9:24 am

      Boy that is exactly it, isn’t it Marianne – listening to our bodies. XD

       
  4. Petty Witter

    June 23, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    Our bodies do indeed tell us what nutrients we need. Shame mine keeps telling me I need chocolate – it’s just as well I don’t always listen.

     
  5. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    June 24, 2010 at 1:27 am

    The key for us is to keep the stuff out of the house. We’ve been looking at a barren pantry this week in preparation for our vacation. It’s been pretty easy not to munch when junk food would have to be baked from scratch.

    I hope you are able to spiritually deduce what your body needs this summer!

     
    • purplume

      June 26, 2010 at 9:25 am

      Thanks. I agree about keeping stuff out of the house. Now to do it. XD

       

Leave a Reply

