RSS

Travel Tips – Water Bottle

28 Jun

When traveling it’s helpful to stay hydrated. Now that you can’t bring bottled anything through airport security, I find this little bottle very helpful.

*

It’s made by New Wave Enviro. The blue cap contains a filter.

*

You can bring this empty bottle through airport security and then fill it from a water fountain or tap.

*

I get this from my acupuncturist. Here is a web site that you can use to find where you can get one. They are sold at health food stores and by health professionals.

*

This is what they say about it at the web site.

The Better Water Filter is carbon based and removes chlorine and organic contaminants from regular municipal tap water.

Refill this bottle up to 90 times for fresh water on the go.

BPA Free!!!

The bottle is made from 100% United States corn and will degrade in just 80 days in a commercial compost.

*

I love that it is light weight and an easy size for carrying. I like to fill it before I get on the plane so I have access to water for takeoff and landing.

*

I love that after you’ve used it for 90 refills, it will degrade in the landfill.

*

If there are other companies that make a product like this, I don’t know of them. I was not paid or reimbursed in any way for this. I wanted to share what I think is a great idea.

*

It does make the water taste much better. I use the bottle in my hotel room to filter water through, if I make coffee in my room.

*

There is one airport I am thinking of that has water that tastes so ‘bad’ that even this filter doesn’t improve it. At that airport, I buy bottled water.

*

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

<p> © 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur </p>
 
12 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2010 in Abundance

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Travel Tips – Water Bottle

  1. Holly

    June 28, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Oh my. Yet another thing made from US corn!

    Corn aside, this is a GREAT idea. I love that it can be reused 90 times. Now, I wonder why Klean Kanteen hasn’t made something like this. Thanks for the tip!

     
    • purplume

      June 29, 2010 at 10:13 am

      Maybe Klean Kanteen will.
      You’re welcome. 😄

       
  2. jackie b central texas

    June 28, 2010 at 11:45 am

    That has to be the neatest thing anyone has ever come across to share. I would use it simply for the fact of it’s refill capabilities and the degrading in a landfill is the for sure selling point. So many plastic bottles in there now that will never ever go away it is shameful, especially since so many of them are mine!!!

    Thanks for the tip will look into it even though do not fly!

    jackie b 🙂

     
  3. Petty Witter

    June 29, 2010 at 6:25 am

    A great idea. I always carry a bottle of water with me and these sound ideal and environmentally friendly as well.

     
  4. Angelia Sims

    June 29, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    I love this! I was refilling my bottles with NO FILTER, but with a filter – yay! No nappy water, and what a money saver. 🙂

     
  5. joann mannix

    June 29, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    That is one of the most incredible things ever! I am ordering one right away. I am in love with the fact that it degrades in landfill. Yay! Thanks for this amazing tip. I really appreciate it.

     
  6. Doraz

    June 29, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    Never knew of this. Thanks for the heads up. I will tell my kids about it. 🙂

     
  7. Jb

    June 30, 2010 at 2:41 am

    We could’ve really used these for our bike trips! Do they hold up well to the heat? Did it cost much?
    (I see that it’s made from corn…I wonder if it makes you feel like eating popcorn when it heats up 😉 )

     
    • purplume

      July 2, 2010 at 3:51 pm

      I think it was about $16. I wouldn’t leave it in a hot car. I haven’t noticed any popcorn cravings although right now I have one.

       
  8. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    June 30, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Great idea! We refilled some water bottles to save $$$ in Disney World. Boy does their water fountain H2O taste bad! It made me wonder what was in there.

     
    • purplume

      July 2, 2010 at 3:51 pm

      Yes, ideally something bad tasting but not harmful to humans. 😄

       
  9. Carol Anne

    July 1, 2010 at 2:39 am

    What a fantastic idea! Thanks for sharing.

     

Leave a Reply

