RSS

FROM MUFFIN TOP TO SKINNY JEANS

30 Jun

Short Mama at Family Of Shorts started this meme and I want in. I want the results.

*

This week’s meme prompt is written by Cara from The Gone Again Smiths

Share your best or worse diet advice and tell about your experience.

*

The worst diet advice I have followed is low fat. My body needs good fats. I take large doses of omega 3 and 6 to keep my clotting factors regulated. Taking statins and lowering cholesterol too much left me with shingles twice.

*

I have some olive oil every day and when I am wanting something more to eat at night, I often have some olives.

*

The best diet advice is to stay happy and loving. When I am on vacation, I usually end up losing a little weight. I don’t count calories, I end up eating things I wouldn’t normally, yet I lose.
I do exercise more than usual. That is part of it. The important part I think, is that I am so happy and loving at these times. I need to stay in that place inside me every day.

*

© 2010 J.B. Vadeboncoeur

 
11 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “FROM MUFFIN TOP TO SKINNY JEANS

  1. Holly

    June 30, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Great advice! A bit of avocado is great for the good fats, too.

     
  2. purplume

    June 30, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Yum, I agree. I wish I had one now.

     
  3. Doraz

    June 30, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    Diets. 😦 I do not like that word. I think “a better lifestyle” is better. I also do not believe in not eating certain foods…ever again. I think that is toooo hard to do. I just eat less of it…but, I do eat it. I love cookies. I just eat half. I love candy. I just have half. You get it, right? I hope you have fun with your food choices. I find that exercise helps me a lot. 🙂

     
    • purplume

      July 2, 2010 at 3:59 pm

      I agree Doraz. the older I get, the more necessary exercise is.
      I am having fun today with a beer choice. At least I exercised hard this morning.

       
  4. Petty Witter

    July 1, 2010 at 3:12 am

    The best advice given to me was do what seems best for you, no one ‘diet’ works well for everyone. Personally I think that what Doraz has to say makes perfect sense. if only I had the will power to eat half that chocolate bar.

     
    • purplume

      July 2, 2010 at 4:00 pm

      Yes, half is good then get it away so I’m not tempted.

       
  5. Yankee Girl

    July 1, 2010 at 7:55 am

    What works for me is just moving around more. I take more walks to the water cooler, walk to the mailbox at the end of the street, just do whatever I can to keep moving without really feeling like i am doing any exercise. These small changes have helped me lose 12 pounds.

     
    • purplume

      July 2, 2010 at 4:01 pm

      Wow, that’s great. I often think how in older times people didn’t have to exercise per se, it was built into their day. I want that.

       
  6. pandabox33

    July 2, 2010 at 2:38 am

    Very good advice !

     
  7. Jb

    July 3, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    It’s hard to choose, ’cause everybody is such an expert! I think the one that pushed me over the edge was the guy who basically thought I should have nothing to eat except egg whites and steamed green vegetables. Ridiculous! That’s pretty much when I said “enough is enough”. Now I just try to do what feels right and keep things in moderation…although that moderation thing is a toughy sometimes!

     
    • purplume

      July 6, 2010 at 10:07 am

      That’s for sure Jb. I was feeling badly about getting into some ice cream lately. Then I realized, maybe my body needs more cholesterol since the statins overstripped the coating on my nerve endings. YES, definitely, I like this thought better than beating myself up about it.

       

Leave a Reply

