RSS

THE WOMAN IN 203

02 Aug

I’m on vacation and have turned the comments off. Thinking of all you readers, when I am not distracted by the beauty of family and friends. Have your best summer ever.

Kacey97007

*

I was 16 the summer before I went to nursing school. I worked in a local hospital, in the dietary department.

*

One of my tasks was to collect the menus from patients.

*

Almost fifty years later one patient stands out in my memory.

*

Why her of all the others?

*

The only time I saw her, she sat in a chair at her bedside table. She looked elegant in a long robe. She was slender, older and alone.

*

There was a single rose in a bud vase on the table and she was writing.

*

When I came in she looked up and smiled at me. Not an ecstatic smile, just  a fleeting hello, an I greet you as an equal and am mildly curious smile.

*

When I got back to the kitchen there was a big hubbub. The director had arranged for this lady to have frog’s legs for dinner.  A co-worker saw my look and said,

She’s dying.

*

She’s dying? The epitome of elegance. For my hair to look like hers would take a whole can of hair spray. If I wore a beautiful robe like hers, it would probably have a bleach spot or two on it.

*

I think the reason she has remained with me still is that she was in total acceptance. She was not trying to do or be anything. I think she was mourning herself purely, past the denial and bargaining. There was something very powerful in that place.

*

© 2010 Jeanne Litt

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.