RSS

BOOK REVIEW – NATHANIEL FLUDD BEASTOLOGIST Book One FLIGHT OF THE PHOENIX

26 Aug

The next book from this year’s Horned Toad Takes that we are reading is

NATHANIEL FLUDD BEASTOLOGIST Book One FLIGHT OF THE PHOENIX

It’s a middle grade book by R.L. LaFevers, illustrated by Kelly Murphy,

In this book a ten year old boy’s parents are presumed dead after their plane goes down at the North Pole.

The boy is taken in by his only Aunt who teaches him the family tradition of studying  mythical beasts. The boy and his aunt’s dodo bird start out antagonistic to each other.

My grandchildren are completely hooked and were disappointed when we had to stop reading last night.

This book is published by Houghton Milton Books for children.  I find myself thinking – dodo birds, they’re extinct aren’t they? And Phoenix are mythical creatures? My understanding of Boyd’s Mills Press publishing is that they rarely publish fantasy. If they do, they want it to be clearly unreal. There is something to be said for that.

Most of you would probably say these are clearly unreal. This adult is momentarily challenged, well some would say more than momentarily, but I refer to just this instance.

My grandchildren don’t have any problem with the unreality of this and know it is fiction.

When we finish reading it, I will update this.

Addendum: My grandchildren loved the book and so did I. We have plans to read the next book in the series when I visit again.

I haven’t received any compensation for this review.

Copyright Jeanne Litt 2010

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 26, 2010 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
