RSS

Home at last

07 Sep

Last night, I arrived home. Hubby picked me up and I went to bed. Now, after 9 hours of sleep, I am human again.

*

My hubby even put clean sheets on the bed. I am impressed and grateful.

*

The house looks so uncluttered.

*

And hubby made the comment that now it’s going to have things around all over the place again.

*

Hmm.

*

I love uncluttered.

*

One problem I have is out of sight, out of mind. So I leave everything I am working on – out.

*

I have an opportunity here to do things differently.

*

So far, I put away two things in my room that were out the whole time I was traveling.

*

I am going to empty my suitcases by putting everything where it goes. This is instead of sorting it into piles that I leave until they age properly.

*

I think while it’s uncluttered, I’ll see what else I can put away before I even start unpacking. I saw two shopping bags near the door that I can put into my car trunk.

*

Then, I want to clean the house thoroughly.

*

That sounds like tomorrow. Oh yes, and catch up on blog reading. : )

*

<p> © 2010 Jeanne Litt </p>

 
16 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2010 in Abundance, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Home at last

  1. ~ifer

    September 7, 2010 at 5:29 am

    So glad to have you back! I missed being able to comment on your posts, and missed having you around on my blog.

    Welcome back!

     
    • purplume

      September 9, 2010 at 4:46 am

      Thank you Jennifer. I miss reading your blog. 😄

       
  2. Jackie B Central Texas

    September 7, 2010 at 6:33 am

    J B it is nice to be able to say Hello! Welcome home and hope you had a wonderful time, sounded like you had some nice adventures!
    Did you finish the afghan?

    jackie ^_^

     
    • purplume

      September 9, 2010 at 4:48 am

      Thanks Jackie. I did finish it and I will post a picture of it. Now I have orders for 4 more for grandchildren. I love it. If I could only blog while I crochet. sigh. Actually, I do my thinking while I crochet.

       
  3. Holly

    September 7, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Welcome back! I’m so glad to be able to comment on your posts, too!

    I loved this part: “I am going to empty my suitcases by putting everything where it goes. This is instead of sorting it into piles that I leave until they age properly.” When I had a larger apartment, I used to just unzip my suitcases, remove what needed to be washed, and take the rest of the things out as needed. Which was a long process sometimes!

    I just got back from a trip this morning, too. Right now, I’m folding huge amounts of laundry that my boyfriend washed while I was away (I’m talking about six loads here), and I’ll probably leave the suitcases for tomorrow.

     
    • purplume

      September 9, 2010 at 4:51 am

      Thank you Holly. Thank goodness there is tomorrow for big jobs like 6 loads. Hope you had a great trip. 😄

       
  4. Anika

    September 7, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    welcome back!

     
    • purplume

      September 9, 2010 at 4:51 am

      Thanks Anika. See you soon in the new community room. : )

       
  5. denise

    September 8, 2010 at 7:13 am

    i forgot we had this “desire-for-lack-of-clutter-but-naturally-lean-towards-clutter” approach to life in common…with uncluttered, neat, organized husbands to boot…welcome back…hoping you can inspire me to become uncluttered and then, even more important for me, to stay that way!

     
    • purplume

      September 9, 2010 at 4:55 am

      Thanks Denise. I wish I could, inspire both of us that is. I have been focusing on picking up the things I leave out as I go through the day.

      Your daughter Sea creates such beautiful things, it inspires me to have areas set up to create in. As I look in my den closet I see things I am holding onto that I might use. If I look at it more as how can I set it up to serve my creativity better, that would look very differently. Thanks for the nudge.

       
  6. Heather

    September 9, 2010 at 11:43 am

    So glad you are back! I can just imagine what my house would look like after getting back, NO where near uncluttered! LOL! That is a good hubby you got there.

     
    • purplume

      September 13, 2010 at 6:59 am

      Yes, he is amazing and a major character. We even missed each other – awww.

       
  7. Jen C.

    September 14, 2010 at 3:44 am

    Glad to see you back! Feels great to be able to leave comments again too 🙂 Looks like you had a great trip 🙂

     
    • purplume

      September 15, 2010 at 6:19 am

      Thanks Jen. I had such a good trip. 😄

       
  8. Jb

    September 17, 2010 at 3:06 am

    Welcome back!
    Good luck with the decluttering! We’ve been doing “The Great Purge” (as I like to refer to it in my mind). Such a task! But it feels so good to create space!

     
    • purplume

      September 18, 2010 at 8:51 am

      Ooh I am impressed – the great purge sounds so totally cleansing.
      I am hoping to give a lick and a promise to all my closets this month.

       

Leave a Reply

