RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

17 Sep


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday thing. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

*
Last week on FEEL GOOD FRIDAY, I mentioned feeling disgruntled. Even after posting about good things, the disgruntled continued. (Gasp! Imagine.)
*
But finally, I heard some words about winning in your inner dialogue and letting others win in your outer dialogue.
*
My disgruntledness came from feeling wronged. And if I was honest I would say because I used that against myself to say I am unworthy.
*
A woman came to mind that I observed once. To me it seemed she was clearly in the ‘right’ yet, she said to another person, I see I wasn’t clear about this and she explained it differently.
*
I was shocked that she didn’t try to make the other person ‘wrong.’
*
So I decided to let the person I felt disgruntled about be ‘right’.
*
OMG, it’s been such a happy great week. I feel esteemed by that other person, which is what I wanted all along.
*
I guess this is what Rumi was talking about.

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing,
there is a field. I will meet you there.

*
Wanna meet?
*

© 2010 Jeanne Litt

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

  1. Dollycas

    September 17, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    GLAD YOU HAD A GREAT WEEK!!!

    Dollycas

     
  2. Heather

    September 17, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Sometimes we just have to agree to disagree or just back down cause it’s not really worth the effort.

    Glad you made peace with yourself and had a great week!

     
    • purplume

      September 20, 2010 at 8:54 am

      Thanks Dorcas and Heather. ❤

       
  3. Holly

    September 18, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    I’m so happy you had such a breakthrough!

    I love the part about how “I heard some words about winning in your inner dialogue and letting others win in your outer dialogue.” I once read in this Joel Osteen book that my mother gave me this story about a little boy who kept standing up in church. His mother kept pushing him down, until finally he stayed sitting down. Then he turned to his mother and whispered “It’s okay mother, I’m still standing up on the inside.”

    I read that when I was going through a really difficult time in my life, and whenever I was feeling injustice from others, I would tell myself that it was okay, because I was still standing up on the inside. It made me feel a LOT better during those times.

    It doesn’t matter so much what others say or do. What matters is how we react to it. Which actually is perfect, because all we can change is how or what we think or do, and not what others think, do, or say.

    We are big Rumi fans in our house! We have a book called A Year With Rumi, that has one poem for each day in the year. We read it after breakfast. I loved that quote. Thanks!

    Hugs and happy weekend!

     
    • purplume

      September 20, 2010 at 8:57 am

      Thanks Holly. Rumi has a lot of wisdom. And so does your mother and Joel Osteen.
      It amazed me how much better I felt with my new attitude.

       
      • Holly

        September 23, 2010 at 11:54 am

        It’s funny how we always look outside first when we want to feel better, but it’s all about us fixing our things on the inside! Which is actually easier, because that way, we only depends on ourselves!

         
  4. Angelia Sims

    September 19, 2010 at 4:58 am

    That is so cool and what a great way to be, for yourself and others. I am thrilled to read this today. I need all the feel good I can get. 🙂

     
    • purplume

      September 20, 2010 at 8:58 am

      Oh good Angelia. Maybe I am growing up, sigh.

       
  5. sparkling74

    September 19, 2010 at 5:25 am

    I dont’ know how you do it. I just can’t do it. When i know someone is wrong, I can’t let them be right. I might be able to let them think they are right on the outside but I seethe. I do too much of that. I am a prove your wronger. I can’t help it. There should be a support group for us. Thank God for the internet, the solver of many arguments.

     
    • Holly

      September 19, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      Sparkling74, I used to be like that too. Wow, did I used to be like that. But in the end, it only hurts yourself. Do you feel terrible after the seething? I used to. Deep down, I think it’s an ego thing. Because in the end, it really doesn’t matter who’s right, anyway. Good luck! 🙂

       
    • purplume

      September 20, 2010 at 8:59 am

      I don’t know how I was able to let go so easily. It was after days of seething and knowing that I wanted some relief from how ‘ugly’ I felt.

       
  6. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    September 19, 2010 at 8:30 am

    I seem to do okay with this unless it’s my husband. I feel really compelled to let him know when he’s wrong!

    I guess we all have room for growth.

    So glad you had a great week. I hope you’re able to conquer your disgruntlement permanently.

     
    • purplume

      September 20, 2010 at 9:01 am

      Interesting. Husbands are a whole different ball of wax, doncha think. They challenge us beyond all others.

      Seeing how my change in attitude changed me, makes me think I will remember faster next time. ❤

       
  7. joann mannix

    September 19, 2010 at 9:17 am

    I have learned this very thing, that sometimes it’s just not worth it. It’s called grace. And it is a great to thing to know. Congratulations.

     
    • purplume

      September 20, 2010 at 9:02 am

      Ah grace Joann, yes I want to live in grace. ❤ It's like sunshine and flowers after darkness.

       

Leave a Reply

